Headache Medicine

The Headache and Facial Pain Program, under the directorship of Deborah I. Friedman, M.D., M.P.H., opened its doors for patient care in 2012. We are one of only a few resources available in North Texas to treat patients with complex headache disorders and have established our Program as a regional leader in headache medicine with referrals from throughout the southwestern United States.

UTSW Headache Team
UTSW Headache Team: Top row l-r: Joseph Vaughn M.D., Tierra Mills, NP, Cathleen Bauer, NP, Cristina Wohlgehagen M.D., Bert Vargas, M.D.
Bottom row l-r:  Abiola Ayorinde,NP, Deborah Friedman, M.D., MPH, Marisara Dieppa, M.D., Tonia Sabo, M.D.


We offer a one-year fellowship which is accredited by the United Council for Neurological Subspecialties (UCNS). Our program is multidisciplinary with partners in Sleep Medicine, Pain Management, Pediatric Neurology, Oromaxillofacial Surgery, Physical Therapy, Psychology, Obstetrics & Gynecology, and Plastic Surgery.