History of the ID Division and Fellowship

The UT Southwestern Infectious Diseases Fellowship began in 1957 with the arrival of Dr. Jay P. Sanford as the Infectious Diseases Division Chief. Dr. Sanford was one of America’s leading military physicians and experts in the treatment of infectious diseases and tropical medicine of the 20th century. After serving as the chief of the Bacteriology Section at the Walter Reed Army Institute of Research, Dr. Sanford joined the faculty of UT Southwestern Medical School and Parkland Hospital in 1957.

He served as the chief of the ID division, director of the Microbiology Laboratory, and vice-chairman of the Department of Medicine during his tenure in Dallas. He also held numerous national positions of prominence including councilor, secretary, and then president of the Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA), and president of the American Federation for Clinical Research. He also went on to become the chairman of the Accreditation Council on Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and chairman of the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM).

However, Dr. Sanford is probably most well-known for his internationally recognized practical antibiotic guide, The Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy, now in its 46th print edition. Still considered the “gold standard” for treatment recommendations by many clinicians, this manual began after a 1970 Grand Rounds presentation Dr. Sanford gave on newer antibiotics and was first published with input from ID fellows and faculty within the division.

The first ID fellow Dr. Stanford trained at UT Southwestern was Dr. Jack A. Barnett in 1957. During the period from 1957-1974, Dr. Sanford trained 41 fellows in Infectious Diseases, many of whom went on to become research and thought leaders in Infectious Diseases and to lead ID divisions, chair medicine departments, or become medical school deans across the country. Four of Dr. Sanford’s original ID fellows remain as active or adjunct members of the ID division today: Paul M. Southern, Jr., M.D.; James P. Luby, M.D.; James W. Smith, M.D.; and Edward L. Goodman, M.D..

Since Dr. Sanford’s departure, the ID division has continued to maintain a strong tradition of training ID leaders, researchers and clinicians who are major contributors to the field of ID.