News, Honors, and Awards

LEAD Participant, Dr. Voit presents at Virtual Sessions


The office of Faculty Diversity and Development recently hosted the 2021 Leadership Emerging in Academic Departments (LEAD) Program virtual sessions. Jessica Voit, M.D., presented her poster titled, "A UT Southwestern Hospital Elder Life Program: HELP to Reduce Delirium in the Hospital".

Click here it view poster

Dr. Thomas Dalton selected for SWAT/OME Fellowship Program


Dr. Thomas Dalton was selected for the 2019-2020 Southwestern Academy of Teachers (SWAT)/Office of Medical Education (OME) Fellowship Program. This fellowship is highly competitive and supports a year of faculty development in medical education. Congratulations, Dr. Dalton!

Geriatrics Ranked #20


UT Southwestern Geriatrics ranked #20 on US News and World Report's Best Hospital for Geriatrics

Geriatric Care Center Receives Certificate of Influenza Immunization Excellence


The Mildred Wyatt & Ivor P. Wold Center for Geriatric Care was one of six clinics recognized for consistently providing patient education and awareness of the flu vaccine.  

Dr. Sarah Wingfield chosen for Tideswell, AGS, and ADGAP Emerging Leaders in Aging Program


Dr. Wingfield has been chosen for the 2019- 2020 Tideswell, AGS, and ADGAP Emerging Leaders in Aging Program.  She is part of a select group to participate in this high value, intensive, leadership program based at UCSF with  faculty from across the country. 

Shayna Ratner awarded the Lorraine Sulkin-Schein Medical Student Award in Geriatric Medicine


Shayna Ratner was awarded the Lorraine Sulkin-Schein Medical Student Award in Geriatric Medicine and the North Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians Award for Outstanding Medical Student in Psychiatry. 

Welcome Dr. Anupama Gangavati!


Welcome to Dr. Anupama Gangavati! Dr. Gangavati trained as a fellow in Geriatric Medicine at the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Harvard Medical School. She is board certified in both Geriatric Medicine and Internal Medicine. 

Dr. Roche elected member of the Shine Academy


Dr. Vivyenne Roche was elected a member of the University of Texas System Kenneth I. Shine, MD Academy of Health Science Education for 2019.  This honor reflects her accomplishments and commitment to the highest standards of health education instruction. 

Dr. Dalton receives Rising Star Award


Dr. Thomas Dalton is the recipient of the 2018 Clinical Excellence Rising Star Award.

See more about the Rising Star Award


Welcome, Dr. Voit!


Dr. Jessica Voit joined the Geriatric Medicine team on October 1, 2018.  She completed her Geriatric Medicine fellowship with UT Southwestern in August 2018.  Welcome, Dr. Voit!