Awards and Recognition

2019 Patriot Award


Congratulations to Drs. Ethan Halm and Bethany Agusala on receiving an award from the UT Southwestern Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve (ESGR) in recognition of the GIM team’s support of Mandell Butler, Jr., DNP, APRN, FNP-C, a Lieutenant in the US Navy Reserve. The UT Southwestern Veterans Support office presented Drs. Halm and Agusala with the Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve Award on Tuesday, September 24th in a brief ceremony on West Campus. The ESGR is a Department of Defense program to promote cooperation and understanding between Reserve Component Service members and their civilian employers to assist in an employee’s military commitment. 

This is a really a General Internal Medicine clinic team recognition award, so a big “Thank you” to all of our providers and staff who provide coverage and of course a big “Thank you” to Mandell for his on-going service to our country.

See more about the Patriot Award


Dr. Brinker presents top rated Internal Medicine Grand Rounds in 2018


Stephanie Brinker, M.D. – Top Internal Medicine Grand Rounds presentation in 2018 – “The Internist’s Role in the Gun Violence Public Health Crisis”

Recognition for Gold PACT Awards


We would like to congratulate Dr. Hugh McClung and Dr. Magda Hennes who were both recognized with Gold PACT Awards during a luncheon for PACT Award Recipients. PACT awards honor UT Southwestern employees and faculty who demonstrate superior organizational values through quality customer service. Recognition can come from managers, co-workers, internal or external customers, faculty, patients, or visitors.

Dr. Paulk receives Clinical Excellence Award


The President’s Award for Diversity and Humanism in Clinical Care was recently given to Dr. Elizabeth Paulk. This award honors clinical faculty members who best embody the humanistic spirit of patient-centered medicine, both through clinical excellence and in outstanding compassion in the delivery of care.

See more about the Award


Abraham awarded 2019 Gold Humanism Scholar


The Arnold P. Gold Foundation is delighted to announce one the 2019 Gold Humanism Scholars at the Harvard Macy Institute Program for Educators is Reeni A. Abraham, M.D. of University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, whose project focuses on “Reflection Rounds Curriculum Quality Improvement Project”

Dr. McGarry, LEAD Participant


Mary McGarry, M.D. - 2018 Leadership Emerging in Academic Departments (LEAD) Program participant - "Impact of Pre-Visit Planning on Afterhours Charting and Communication, Leading to Decreased Physician Burnout"

2018 Meritorious Service Award Winners


Congratulations to the General Internal Medicine  2018 Meritorious Service Award Winners, Laquita Cooper- LCSW, Jessica Carpio- CSA III, and Crystal Huerta- CMOA.The award is based on their superior demonstration of the PACT Service Standards.

Building Data Warehouses: A 15-year Journey


“UT Southwestern is an organization driven to enhance patient safety and improve patient outcomes,” stated Jonathan French, senior director of quality and patient safety initiatives at HIMSS North America. “UT Southwestern has created an enterprise-wide culture of using health information and technology to make data-driven decisions and create a culture of safety. HIMSS congratulates UT Southwestern on their well-deserved recognition for achieving the 2017 Enterprise Davies Award.” Dr. Json Fish was part of the UT Southwestern Team who won the award.

Dr. Desai accepted to SGIM TEACH program


Shivani Desai, M.D., has been accepted to the Society of General Internal Medicine (SGIM) TEACH Certificate Program. TEACH is a prestigious medical education training program through SGIM. This is a nationally competitive two year distance and in-person clinician educator career development program organized around the two annual national SGIM meetings. This program focuses on Teaching Skills and offers quality instruction and assessment with tangible outcomes.

Paulk selected as palliative care distinguished professorship's first holder


Dr. Elizabeth Paulk’s dedication to exceptional palliative care has led to her selection as the inaugural holder of the Distinguished Professorship in Palliative Care, in Honor of Steven Leach, M.D. The Distinguished Professorship is supported by major gifts from Leland and Eunice Carter and from Charles Hudson recognizing the work of Dr. Leach.