Awards and Recognition

Barker honored with UT Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award


Blake Barker, M.D., is among 14 educators from across the state system recognized as Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award winners by the UT System Board of Regents.

Students have consistently given him high marks for his teaching and successfully nominated him for membership in both the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society and the Gold Humanism Honor Society. He is also a member of the Southwestern Academy of Teachers, an elite group of UTSW educators who work to foster teaching excellence.

2021 Leaders in Clinical Excellence Award Recipient


Meet the recipeint of the 2021 Leaders in Clinical Excellence Patient and Family Recognition Award. As a specialist in palliative medicine, Padmaja Reddy, M.D., is uncommonly skilled at caring for patients and their family members in what is often the darkest time of their lives. That was true long before anyone had heard of COVID-19, but when the pandemic struck, she took her calling to a new level, as all 15 of her nominators attest in great detail. Part of what Dr. Reddy accomplished early in the pandemic was creating, in conjunction with her critical care colleagues, other members of the palliative care team, and many physician volunteers, the COVID ICU Family Outreach Program at Parkland Memorial Hospital. A crucial part of this program involved providing daily virtual updates to the families of every single COVID ICU patient.

Tipping Point Challenge winners


The John A. Hartford Foundation Tipping Point Challenge is a national competition to catalyze the spread of skills, ideas, and solutions that will improve health care delivery for all people living with a serious illness.

Texting to Find the Tipping Point

This team lead by Elizabeth Paulk, M.D., believes that they can detect problems earlier by reaching out to their ambulatory patients, rather than waiting for them to reach them. The population has demonstrated little interest in MyChart or email, but are very comfortable with texting. Due to this, the team plans to send a short weekly questionnaire via text to all ambulatory patients, asking a general well-being score and whether they need a return phone call. The team will use this data to intervene before a crisis occurs in their racially diverse, socioeconomically disadvantaged population.

Watch the video

Tipping Point Challenge - Bronze Winner


The John A. Hartford Foundation Tipping Point Challenge is a national competition to catalyze the spread of skills, ideas, and solutions that will improve health care delivery for all people living with a serious illness.

Mass Production of Compassionate Communication in the Era of COVID-19

The ICU and palliative care teams lead by Padmaja Reddy, M.D., created a novel care model, which facilitated daily communication with families of over 500 patients in the ICU (from March 2020-2021). The team assembled a network of physician volunteers to “adopt” ICU families and generated scripts to facilitate formation of a therapeutic alliance, counseling regarding prognosis and COVID-specific complications, exploration of values, delivery of recommendations regarding treatment options, and provision of emotional support. 

Watch the video

Dr. Abraham honored with ROTA Award


Dr. Reeni Abraham, Associate Professor of Internal Medicine has been recognized with the UT System’s highest educational honor – the Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award – for their academic prowess and mentoring talent.

With her selection as recipient of 2020 Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Awards (ROTA), UT Southwestern now has 53 faculty members who have been honored with the Regents’ award, which recognizes outstanding teaching, mentoring, and personal commitment to students and the learning process.

Parkland COVID hero of the week


Palliative Care faculty member, Dr. Padmaja Reddy was recently featured in the latest Parkland newsletter. Thanks for all of your hard work during the COVID epidemic.

See the feature


Mid-Career Education Mentorship Award


Congratulations to Dr. Rachel Bonnema for receiving the 2020 Society of General Internal Medicine Mid-Career Education Mentorship Award. The secret is out, and while it would have been more fun to her get this recognition in person, at our large annual national conference, this is well-deserved and an enormous professional honor. We are proud of her and thankful for all she does here at UT Southwestern.
View the Acceptance Video

GIM faculty represent in Innovation Tank


To promote innovation in care delivery, health education, and patient experience, the Clinical Compensation Committee created the Innovation Tank, a competition modeled after Shark Tank to encourage internal investment in faculty development as facilitators of change.

Congratulations to Drs. Bethany Agusala and John Clark for each receiving a $5,000 pilot project award as semi-finalists. Drs. Jaclyn Albin and Caitlin Siropaides were selected as finalists in the Department of Internal Medicine Innovation Tank competition, each receiving a $10,000 pilot project award.

See more about Innovation Tank


Dr. Abraham named member of Shine Academy


Congratulations to Dr. Reeni Abraham who has been selected as the newest UT Southwestern and General Internal Medicine member of The University of Texas Kenneth I. Shine, M.D. Academy of Health Science Education. This is a  statewide medical education honor society, so a very high bar.

Leaders in Clinical Excellence Award


Congratulations to Dr. Hugh McClung on being presented the Patient and Family Recognition AwardThis award honors clinical faculty whose dedication to the compassionate, respectful delivery of exceptional patient care has garnered the highest degree of patient trust and satisfaction.