News, Honors, and Awards

Recent Publication by Dr. Siropades in SMJ


Congratulations to Dr. Caitlin Siropaides and our former UT Southwestern Internal Medicine residents on getting their medical education intervention study published. Their serious illness communication curriculum improved internal medicine resident’s confidence in discussing goals of care and code status. These skills are more important than ever.

Nutrition counseling curriculum for residents published in Mededportal!


Dr. Seema Jain recent acceptance of a "Nutrition Counseling Curriculum to Address Cardiovascular Risk Reduction for Internal Medicine Residents" by MedEdPORTAL. Introduction Primary care providers play a critical role in reducing patients' risk for cardiovascular disease, including providing dietary counseling. However, few physicians feel adequately trained to provide this counseling, and most internal medicine (IM) residencies do not offer nutrition education.

Time-Limited Trials for Serious Illness


Dr. Caitlin Siropaides recently had a "Fast-Fact" published in the Palliative Care Network of Wisconsin. The paper "Time-Limited Trials for Serious Illness" deals with patients, families, and clinicians who often struggle when deciding on potentially life-sustaining therapies and how physicians can talk to a patient about TLT.

Physicians face barriers to voting


Two new UT Southwestern studies published this week report some surprising findings: Only half of practicing physicians are registered to vote, and the most common obstacle faced by resident physicians is the lack of time to vote. The researchers say finding ways to increase voter participation among doctors is critical as the nation tackles health care issues. “There’s always been a minority of physicians involved as advocates or elected officials. Now, more people are becoming interested in getting involved in health policy. Voting is a fundamental way of being engaged,” says Arthur Hong, M.D., assistant professor of population and data sciences in the department of internal medicine and an author of both studies.

Announcement of the Institutional Service Award


Congratulations to Dr. Carol Croft on the recent announcement naming her as the Institutional Service Award recipient as part of the 2020 Leaders in Clinical Excellence Award winners. This award honors clinical faculty who consistently share time and expertise in service to internal committees, task forces, and other institutional activities that make a significant impact on the care delivered to UT Southwestern patients.

Dr. Hong receives NCI grant to assess cardiovascular risk in cancer survivors


Dr. Arthur Hong received a supplemental grant from the NCI to assess cardiovascular risk and risk reduction among low income cancer survivors.  He will be working with Dr. Simon Lee and Dr. Bijal Balasubramanian in the Deptpartment of Population and Data Sciences and School of Public Health who have a parent NCI grant focused on survivorship among Parkland patients with cancer.

Drs. Bowen and Albin receive grant on Virtual Culinary Medicine for Low Income Patients


Dr. Michael Bowen and Dr. Jaclyn Albin received a big grant from the Communities Foundation of Texas & Caruth Foundation for a 2-year project that will conduct a pragmatic trial to examine the impact of on-line culinary medicine classes vs. standard of care, office-based nutrition visits on glycemic control in patients with Type 2 Diabetes. This builds on a lot of great multisector work they and their colleagues have done to extend UTSW’s impact into the community.

Congratulations to Dr. Obafemi on his promotion


Dr. Adebisi Obafemi joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 2012 and has been promoted to Associate Professor. 

He has a strong background interest in General Internal Medicine with particular interest in the care of the diabetic patient and management of chronic heart failure. He currently specializes in the management of the poison patient, drug overdose, adverse drug reactions, work related diseases and injury.

Dr. Abraham honored with ROTA Award


Dr. Reeni Abraham, Associate Professor of Internal Medicine has been recognized with the UT System’s highest educational honor – the Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award – for their academic prowess and mentoring talent.

With her selection as recipient of 2020 Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Awards (ROTA), UT Southwestern now has 53 faculty members who have been honored with the Regents’ award, which recognizes outstanding teaching, mentoring, and personal commitment to students and the learning process.

North Texas VA welcomes Dr. Dellinger


Dr. Oscar Dellinger is originally from Atlanta, Georgia. He received a bachelors degree in Biomedical and Electrical Engineering from Louisiana Tech University and received his medical degree from the University of Alabama in Birmingham. He completed an Internal Medicine Residency at the University of Alabama in Birmingham after completing a rotating internship at The Ochsner Clinic in New Orleans.

Now a part of the Palliative and Hospice team at the North Texas VA, Dr. Dellinger continues to focus on those with the most challenging circumstances as they approach the end of life. His clinical practice emphasizes true goal directed patient centered care.

Dr. Dellinger’s interests outside of medicine include family, food and travel.