Center for Autophagy Research – Faculty

Beth Levine, M.D. Lab Websitebeth.levine@utsouthwestern.edu

Dr. Beth Levine

The Levine Lab studies the molecular regulation of autophagy, and the roles of Beclin 1 and other autophagy proteins in diverse aspects of physiology and disease.

Qing Zhong, M.D. Ph.D.Lab Websiteqing.zhong@utsouthwestern.edu

Qing Zhong, MD

The Zhong Lab studies the biochemical mechanism of mammalian autophagy, including PI3P production, membrane curvature sensing, cargo recruitment, and membrane tethering/fusion.

Haydn Ball, Ph.D.Lab Websitehaydn.ball@utsouthwestern.edu

The Ball Protein Chemistry Technology Center provides advanced peptide synthesis, MALDI mass spectrometry, and Edman sequencing services, for a fee or through a collaborative arrangement.

Xiaonan Dong, Ph.D. • xiaonan.dong@utsouthwestern.edu

Xiaonan Dong, PhD

We study how autophagy is activated during viral infection (i.e. Virophagy) and how virophagy functions to restrict the replication of some viruses. We utilize an image-based genome-wide siRNA screen approach and genetic and biochemical approaches to identify and characterize host virophagy factors. Unraveling the molecular mechanisms of virology will enhance our understanding of the interplay between host and viruses, as well as potentially identify additional targets that can be used to therapeutically modulate autophagy in the treatment of viral diseases.

Michael Shiloh, M.D., Ph.D. • Research Lab • michael.shiloh@utsouthwestern.edu

Dr. Michael Shiloh

Tuberculosis mucosal and innate immunity

Fei Wang, Ph.D.Lab Website • Fei.Wang@UTSouthwestern.edu

Yongjie Wei, MD

Autophagy, Membrane Biogenesis, Membrane Protein Trafficking

Yongjie Wei, Ph.Dyongjie.wei@utsouthwestern.edu

Yongjie Wei, MD

Autophagy and cancer biology
Autophagy and Cell death regulation

Jing Zhang, Ph.D.jing.zhang@utsouthwestern.edu

Jing Zhang, Ph.D.

Mechanism of programmed necrosis in human cancer cells