Scientific Advisory Board

In 2014, the Kidney Cancer Program (KCP) assembled a distinguished scientific advisory board. The advisory board provides strategic scientific input to the KCP leadership to achieve our goals. Advisory board members are accomplished physicians and scientists from across the US and Canada. Their expertise encompasses epidemiological, clinical, translational, and basic research, and several members are leaders of Specialized Programs of Research Excellence (SPORE), a cornerstone program of the National Cancer Institute to promote outstanding interdisciplinary translational cancer research.

Dr. Dror Michaelson
Dror Michaelson, M.D., Ph.D. (Chair)

Clinical Director of the Genitourinary Cancer Center at the Massachusetts General Hospital, and Associate Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Michaelson is also an investigator of the Kidney Cancer Program of the Dana Farber/Harvard Cancer Center.

Dr. E. Jason Abel
E. Jason Abel, M.D., F.A.C.S.

Associate Professor in the Department of Urology at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health. Dr. Abel holds the Robert F. and Dolores K. Schnoes Chair in Urologic Oncology. He is also Co-PI on an NIH Cancer Institute Moonshot grant.

Dr. Jeffrey Dome
Jeffrey Dome, M.D., Ph.D.

Vice President of the Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders, Division Chief of Hematology and Oncology, and Associate Director of the Center for Cancer and Immunology Research at Children's National Hospital. Dr. Dome is Professor of Pediatrics at the George Washington University School of Medicine & Health Sciences and the Thomas Willson and Lenore Williams McKnew Professor of Pediatric Oncology.

Dr. Daniel George
Daniel George, M.D.

Director of Genitourinary Oncology at Duke Cancer Institute, and Professor of Medicine and Surgery in the Divisions of Medical Oncology and Urology at Duke University School of Medicine.

Dr. William Oh
William Oh, M.D.

Chief of the Division of Hematology and Medical Oncology at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine, and Associate Director for Clinical Research at the Tisch Cancer Institute. Dr. Oh is the Ezra M. Greenspan, MD Professor in Clinical Cancer Therapeutics and Professor of Medicine and Urology.   

Dr. Mark Ratain
Mark Ratain, M.D.

Director of the Center for Personalized Therapeutics, and Associate Director for Clinical Sciences at the Comprehensive Cancer Center at the University of Chicago. Dr. Ratain holds the Leon O. Jacobson Professorship in Medicine. 

Brian Rini, MD
Brian Rini, M.D.

Ingram Professor of Medicine, and Inaugural Chief of Clinical Trials at Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center.

Dr. Yu Shyr
Yu Shyr, Ph.D.

Director of the Vanderbilt Center for Quantitative Sciences, Director of the Vanderbilt Technologies for Advanced Genomics Analysis and Research Design, and Associate Director of Quantitative Sciences Integration at the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center. Dr. Shyr holds the Harold L. Moses Chair in Cancer Research, and is Professor of Biostatistics, Biomedical Informatics, Cancer Biology, and Health Policy.

Dr. M. Celeste Simon
M. Celeste Simon, Ph.D.

Scientific Director of the Abramson Family Cancer Research Institute, and Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine. Dr. Simon is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a member of the Board of Directors of the American Association for Cancer Research.