Dr. Andrew Koh receives inaugural KCP award to examine the gut microbiome in immunotherapy response


Dr. Andrew Koh, Associate Professor in the Department of Pediatrics, is the inaugural recipient of the Kidney Cancer Program's rolling funding opportunity, which offers grant support between $10K and $25K to investigators who have not previously received funding from the KCP or SPORE. Dr. Koh will investigate whether the gut microbiome plays a role in the response to checkpoint inhibitors in kidney cancer patients. 

KCP/SPORE holds its External Advisory Board meeting


The KCP holds its External Advisory Board meeting, an important forum for updating our distinguished EAB members on the progress of the SPORE grant and the KCP, and for getting feedback and advice on the SPORE renewal.

KCP holds its 2nd annual Retreat for Trainees


The 2nd Annual KCP Retreat for Trainees was held at the A.W. Harris Faculty Club. This retreat is designed to encourage UTSW medical students, residents, and fellows to participate in a kidney cancer research project. The program features presentations by trainees who are currently doing research, early stage faculty who did research as trainees, resources available through the KCP, and grant opportunities.

Dr. Cadeddu receives the 2018 Patricia and William L. Watson Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine


Dr. Jeffrey Cadeddu, Professor of Urology and Radiology,and Director, Clinical Center for Minimally Invasive Treatment of Urologic Cancer, receives the 2018 Patricia and William L. Watson Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine. This annual award recognizes a UT Southwestern clinician whose work exemplifies a commitment to outstanding patient care and advancement of clinical innovations.

KCP investigators report improved outcomes for RCC patients with brain metastases


Two companion papers from KCP investigators show that using advanced surgical and radiological techniques, and a multidisciplinary approach, RCC patients with brain metastases have a similar survival rate as patients without brain mets. Press Release

Six abstracts from UTSW doctors accepted for ASCO GU 2019 meeting


Six of six abstracts submitted to ASCO GU by Drs. Qi Cai, Roy Elias, Nirmish Singla, and Faith Zhang are accepted for poster presentation at the 2019 meeting in San Francisco. Research topics cover pathology, medical oncology, urology, radiation oncology, and translational research within the KCP.


Research from the lab of Dr. James Chen shows how one protein, NLRP3, can activate the innate immune response triggered by a wide variety of stimuli.


In a paper published in Nature, Dr. James Chen reports on the mechanism by which NLRP3 activates the inflammasome in innate immune response. Press Release

Dr. DeBerardinis receives 2019 Edith and Peter O’Donnell Award from The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas (TAMEST)


Dr. Ralph DeBerardinis is one of two UT Southwestern faculty members to receive a 2019 Edith and Peter O’Donnell Award from The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas (TAMEST). The O’Donnell Awards – honoring four researchers statewide this year – recognize outstanding achievements by Texas early career investigators in science, medicine, engineering, and technology innovation. Press Release

Dr. Timmerman receives ASTRO Fellow designation


Dr. Robert Timmerman, Professor and Vice Chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology, receives the ASTRO Fellow (FASTRO) designation. This designation is awarded based on ASTRO membership, service to ASTRO, and contributions to the field of radiation oncology.

Dr. James Chen receives 2019 Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences


UTSW biochemist Dr. Zhijian (James) Chen is awarded the 2019 Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences, the second UTSW faculty member to receive this prestigious award since its inception in 2013. The international award program is sponsored by Sergey Brin, Priscilla Chan and Mark Zuckerberg, Ma Huateng, Yuri and Julia Milner, and Anne Wojcicki. Winners receive $3 million each. Press Release  Twitter