Wishon to oversee research administration
at UT Southwestern

DALLAS – June 9, 2011 – Angela Wishon, J.D., has been appointed vice president for research administration at UT Southwestern Medical Center.

In her role, Ms. Wishon oversees functions that support investigators and research personnel, including regulatory compliance. Her office is responsible for the Institutional Review Board, the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee, conflict of interest oversight, grants management and negotiation of clinical trial agreements.

Angela Wishon

“Excellence in research is one of the cornerstones of UT Southwestern,” said Dr. Greg Fitz, executive vice president for academic affairs, provost and dean of UT Southwestern Medical School. “Angela has exceptional knowledge and experience, and will play a key role in improving the ways we support and promote research of the highest quality.”

In addition, Ms. Wishon will work closely with Dr. Charles Ginsburg, senior associate dean of UT Southwestern Medical School, and Dipti Ranganathan, assistant vice president for academic information services, to implement new technologies for management of research review processes and clinical trial data.

Ms. Wishon served as assistant vice chancellor for Regulatory Compliance at the University of Colorado Denver and directed the Regulatory Knowledge and Support Core for the Colorado Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute. She previously served as director of research facilitation and compliance, and then director of the research compliance office at UT Medical Branch at Galveston.

She earned her law degree from Saint Louis University School of Law after graduating Washington University in St. Louis.

“Our objective is to increase administrative efficiency and improve support for UT Southwestern’s world-class research enterprise, while ensuring compliance with complex regulations so that our researchers can maintain their focus on doing the best science possible,” Ms. Wishon said. 

As one of the world's foremost research institutions, UT Southwestern faculty includes four who have won Nobel Prizes since 1985; 19 members of National Academy of Sciences, which is more NAS members than all other academic medical centers in Texas combined; and 19 members of the Institute of Medicine, a component of the NAS. Agencies such as the National Institutes of Health, along with foundations, individuals and corporations provide more than $406 million annually to fund about 3,500 research projects at UT Southwestern.


Media Contact: Russell Rian

To automatically receive news releases from UT Southwestern via email,
subscribe at /*\"+\"Email\"+\"\";")/*]]>*/