UT Southwestern names acclaimed physician/scientist as Internal Medicine Chair

Dr. David H. Johnson
Dr. David H. Johnson

DALLAS – April 23, 2010 – David H. Johnson, M.D., has been named the next chairman of the Department of Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center. Dr. Johnson’s appointment is the culmination of a rigorous national search and is based on his exceptional accomplishments as a physician, scientist and teacher. He will assume the new position in early summer.

Dr. Johnson, former director of the Division of Hematology/Oncology at Vanderbilt University Medical Center and deputy director of its Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, is an internationally acclaimed oncologist with specific expertise in the management of patients with lung cancer. He joined the faculty at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine in 1983 and has been a major contributor to its growth and development. He was the Cornelius A. Craig Chair of Medical and Surgical Oncology at Vanderbilt.

At UT Southwestern, Dr. Johnson will focus on the department’s continued growth and development and will play a central leadership role in
UT Southwestern Medical School. He succeeds J. Gregory Fitz, M.D., who was named dean of the medical school, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs at the medical center, in October 2009.

“I am confident that the Department of Internal Medicine will continue to prosper under Dr. Johnson’s leadership,” Dr. Fitz said. “His perspectives in science, education and exemplary clinical care and clinical research will make a difference.”

Dr. Johnson, who will hold the Donald W. Seldin Distinguished Chair in Internal Medicine, said, “UT Southwestern truly represents everything I admire in a great academic medical institution: an unwavering commitment to excellence in patient care, in residency training and in research. That commitment was evident from the first time I stepped on campus and was reinforced with each subsequent visit.”

Dr. Johnson’s research has focused on lung cancer clinical trials, serum proteomics in detection, and genetic determinants of risk and outcome.

President of the American Society of Clinical Oncology in 2005, Dr. Johnson is chairman of the subspecialty board on medical oncology for the American Board of Internal Medicine, and holds active committee leadership in organizations ranging from the Lance Armstrong Foundation, to the National Cancer Institute and National Comprehensive Cancer Network. Until recently, he served as chairman of the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas’ translational and clinical review committee.

Dr. Johnson has been honored with numerous teaching awards and recently was elected to membership in the Association of American Physicians.

Dr. Johnson received his M.D. in 1976 from the Medical College of Georgia after graduating from the University of Kentucky, where he majored in zoology before earning a master’s degree in physiology. He trained in internal medicine at the University of South Alabama and served a medical oncology fellowship at Vanderbilt University before joining its faculty.


Media Contact: LaKisha Ladson

To automatically receive news releases from UT Southwestern via e-mail,
subscribe at www.utsouthwestern.edu/receivenews