UT Southwestern selects new dean of medical school

Dr. J. Gregory Fitz
Dr. J. Gregory Fitz

DALLAS — Aug. 14, 2009 — J. Gregory Fitz, M.D., chairman of internal medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has been named dean of the UT Southwestern School of Medicine and provost of the medical center, effective Oct. 1, 2009. He also will serve as executive vice president for academic affairs at UT Southwestern.

The appointment culminates an extensive national search carried out by a committee of senior UT Southwestern academic leaders that identified Dr. Fitz as superbly suited to provide the academic leadership needed for UT Southwestern to achieve its full potential.

Dr. Fitz is a world-renowned hepatologist who joined UT Southwestern in 2003 and currently holds the Donald W. Seldin Distinguished Chair in Internal Medicine. He brings to these new responsibilities a record of outstanding academic leadership and significant accomplishment as an investigator and clinician.

“I know that Dr. Fitz and I hold a shared vision of this institution’s scientific, educational and clinical missions and potential,” said Dr. Daniel K. Podolsky, president of UT Southwestern. “We also share a commitment to building on UT Southwestern’s extraordinary heritage of discovery and innovation, while driving even greater levels of achievement and excellence in the basic sciences and in the clinical enterprise.”

Immediately prior to coming to UT Southwestern, Dr. Fitz served as head of the division of gastroenterology and hepatology at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center and before that as professor of medicine and director of the gastroenterology fellowship program at Duke University Medical Center. His international stature in the field of hepatology is reflected in his recent selection to serve as future president of the American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases, the leading international society committed to hepatology.

A national search will be initiated as soon as possible to select a new chair for internal medicine. Dr. Helen Hobbs, director of the Eugene McDermott Center for Human Growth and Development at UT Southwestern, will chair the search committee. An interim department chair will be named in the near future to lead internal medicine upon Dr. Fitz’s transition to his new position.

Dr. Charles Ginsburg, who has served as interim medical school dean, will return to his position as senior associate dean when Dr. Fitz assumes his new role.


Media Contact: Erin Prather Stafford

To automatically receive news releases from UT Southwestern via e-mail, subscribe at www.utsouthwestern.edu/receivenews