Newsmakers - September 2012

Dr. Kenneth Altshuler, Clinical Professor and former Chair of Psychiatry, recently was honored as the first recipient of the Ruth and Ken Altshuler Callier Care Award. The award, named in honor of the Altshulers, is to be presented annually to an individual or group that has contributed significantly to the care of patients with communication disorders. The couple created the Callier Care Fund for children and adults who are unable to afford the treatment they need to overcome speech, language, and hearing disorders. The Altshulers were honored at the recent inaugural Callier Cares Luncheon highlighting contributions to the UT Dallas Callier Center for Communication Disorders. At UT Southwestern Medical Center, the couple’s generosity led to the establishment of the Kenneth Z. Altshuler Fund for Psychiatric Research and the Ruth and Kenneth Altshuler Fund for Clinical Psychiatry, in Honor of Dr. Eric Nestler, a former chair. Dr. Altshuler holds the Stanton Sharp Distinguished Chair in Psychiatry.


Dr. Benjamin Levine, Professor of Internal Medicine, was re-selected by the National Space Biomedical Research Institute to serve as a team leader in the Institute’s efforts to protect astronaut health during long-duration spaceflight. Since 2007, Dr. Levine has led the Cardiovascular Alterations Team, which focuses its research on cardiovascular challenges faced by humans in space. Dr. Levine is Director of the Institute for Exercise and Environmental Medicine, a joint program of UT Southwestern Medical Center and Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas. He holds the Distinguished Professorship in Exercise Sciences.


Dr. Shawna Nesbitt, Associate Dean for Minority Student Affairs, has been chosen to participate in the 2012 Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) program, a yearlong initiative at Philadelphia’s Drexel University that is designed to develop the professional and personal skills required to lead and manage in today’s complex health care environment. ELAM also offers special attention to the unique challenges facing women in leadership positions. Dr. Nesbitt – who joined the faculty in 2001 – is Associate Professor of Internal Medicine and Medical Director of the Parkland Hypertension Clinic. She was one of 54 women selected through a highly competitive application process. The course begins this month and concludes in April 2013.


Dr. Clayton Trimmer, Associate Professor of Radiology, has been inducted as a Fellow in the American College of Radiology (ACR). Only about 10 percent of ACR members achieve this honor, bestowed by the national nonprofit association to radiologists, radiation oncologists, and medical physicists. Dr. Trimmer is a member of American Osteopathic College of Radiology, the Texas Radiological Society, the Society of Interventional Radiology, and the Radiologic Society of North America. He earned his doctor of osteopathic medicine degree from the University of North Texas Health Science Center-Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine.