Newsmakers - October 2012

Todd Eagar, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Pathology and Immunology, was named the winner of the annual Trinkle-Banowsky Abstract and Case Presentation Competition at the Texas Transplantation Society’s 25th Anniversary meeting held recently in Galveston. Dr. Eagar is a fellow in the HLA and Immunogenetics Training Program at The Methodist Hospital in Houston. His winning case presentation was titled, “Compound Chimerism Post-Bone Marrow and Liver Transplantation in a Patient with Swachman Diamond Syndrome.” The Texas Transplantation Society, with membership of nearly 300, is a professional association that facilitates transplantation in Texas. Named for two of the society’s founding members, J. Kent Trinkle and Lynn Banowsky, the competition awards a $500 cash prize, plus travel stipend for the annual meeting.

Four UT Southwestern Medical Center faculty members recently received Honor Awards from the American Academy of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery. Garnering honors were Assistant Professors Joe Kutz, M.D., Romaine Johnson, M.D., Kenneth Lee, M.D., Ph.D., and Debra Weinberger, M.D., all of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery. Dr. Weinberger has a dual appointment in Pediatrics. The organization represents nearly 12,000 physicians and allied health professionals who specialize in the diagnosis and treatment of disorders of the ears, nose, throat, and related structures of the head and neck.