Dr. Shuvro De: John D. McConnell Award for Excellence in Urology

By Lin Lofley

When Dr. Shuvro De arrived on campus at UT Southwestern Medical School, fresh from earning a degree in biochemistry and cell biology from Rice University, he wasn’t certain what his specialty would become.

Dr. Shuvro De
Dr. Shuvro De

It could have been Pediatrics. After all, his brother and sister-in-law were completing residencies here at the time, and he became the go-to babysitter. But Urology exerted a stronger pull, perhaps best exemplified by his selection as the winner of the inaugural John D. McConnell Award for Excellence in Urology.

“I changed a lot of diapers, but I was glad to be here because my brother was here, and I was lucky enough to get in,” Dr. De said. “At the same time, I wanted to do research. I came to Urology late in the game, after a medical outreach trip to Ghana cemented for me that was what I wanted to do.”

A product of Snellville, Ga., a suburb of Atlanta, the 26-year-old’s goal is to specialize in Pediatric Urology.

The McConnell Award honors the clinician that many in the department still credit for the success of Urology at UT Southwestern.

“John McConnell was the third chair of what was then the Division of Urology at UT Southwestern,” said Dr. Claus Roehrborn, Chairman of Urology. “He oversaw the elevation of Urology to department status and he modernized urology here.

“He brought us literally into the 21st century with the introduction of a doctoral program in the department and increasing grant support for basic research. Dr. McConnell embodies what this award stands for.”

Dr. McConnell eventually became Vice President of the medical center and is now Chief Executive Officer at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center in Winston-Salem, N.C.

Once he began his rotations, Dr. De saw a lot to like everywhere he turned.

“Internal Medicine – I really liked that rotation,” he said. “Then I did the Surgery rotation, all I wanted to do was be in the operating room.”

He did a rotation at the Dallas Veterans Affairs Medical Center, and that was where Urology came into focus for him.

“Shuvro was one of several medical students who expressed an interest in Urology this past year,” said Dr. Gary Lemack, Professor of Urology and Neurology and Neurotherapeutics, and Director of the Residency Program in Urology. “All those students were truly outstanding, but Shuvro was unique in his enthusiasm, spirit, and drive. Given that this is a new award, we thought it particularly important to choose someone who embodies the spirit of the award.”

Dr. De particularly stood out by conceiving of a new idea.

“He spearheaded the development of the Urology Interest Group at UT Southwestern,” Dr. Lemack said. “He got it off the ground, and he remained committed to it all year – helping other students learn about the specialty and the opportunities here.

“I really liked Internal Medicine, and Urology includes many of the same things I already liked,” Dr. De said. “I hope to eventually do a pediatric urology fellowship.” And as with all graduates, Dr. De is excited for the future. “I have made so many friendships here. I believe we’ll all keep in touch for a long time.”


Dr. Lemack holds the Rose Mary Haggar Professorship in Urology.

Dr. Roehrborn holds the E.E. Fogelson and Greer Garson Fogelson Distinguished Chair in Urology, and the S.T. Harris Family Chair in Medical Science, in Honor of John D. McConnell, M.D.