Zale Lipshy and St. Paul hospitals receive honors for patient care

By Russell Rian

John Warner, MD

Zale Lipshy University Hospital and St. Paul University Hospital earned the 2012 Outstanding Patient Experience Award from HealthGrades, an independent health care rating organization.

Award recipients performed in the top 10 percent in the nation for patient satisfaction, based on standardized survey responses from patients treated at those hospitals between April 2010 and March 2011. The award is based on analysis of patient satisfaction data for 3,837 U.S. hospitals using the Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems data obtained from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS).

When compared to hospitals performing in the bottom 10 percent for patient satisfaction, hospitals receiving the HealthGrades Outstanding Patient Experience Award had 50 percent more patients give them an overall rating of 9 or 10, 27 percent more patients report that staff always explained their medication prior to administration, and 52 percent more patients report they would definitely recommend the hospital to their family or friends.

In addition, both hospitals received a Texas Health Care Quality Improvement Award from TMF Health Quality Institute, CMS’ Quality Improvement Organization for Texas. The award recognizes hospitals that improved care on national quality measures related to acute myocardial infarction (heart attack), heart failure, pneumonia, and surgical care.

“These latest awards reflect our ongoing commitment to provide not just the best medical care, but optimal comfort and support for our patients, both in our current facilities and in our new hospital,” said Dr. John Warner, Vice President and Chief Executive Officer for UT Southwestern University Hospitals.


Dr. Warner is Medical Director of the Doris and Harry W. Bass Jr. Clinical Center for Heart, Lung, and Vascular Disease. He holds the Audre and Bernard Rapoport Chair in Cardiovascular Research, and the Jim and Norma Smith Distinguished Chair for Interventional Cardiology.