Alzheimer’s Disease Center
gets 5-year, $9 million grant

By Rachel Skei Donihoo / October 2011

Renewed National Institute on Aging support is fostering research at UT Southwestern on inflammation and vascular risk factors that contribute to dementia, as well as enabling investigators at the Alzheimer’s Disease Center to develop new laboratory efforts, including the genetics and genomics of the disease.

The five-year, $9 million grant, which was awarded to the medical center for the fifth consecutive time by the National Institutes of Health’s agency, represents 28 years of continuous NIH funding.

“With the NIH’s continued support, our center will remain a leader in the research of Alzheimer’s disease and related disorders,” said Dr. Roger Rosenberg, Director of the Alzheimer’s Disease Center (ADC). “This grant renewal is tremendously exciting and a true testament to the high-caliber research our wonderful team is doing. We are committed to uncovering new insights into the biology of dementia that will lead to effective therapies to prevent or delay its progression, and we are proud of the confidence in our efforts that this grant represents. We’re looking forward to a highly productive five years.”

The ADC is a leading research center for Alzheimer’s disease and related disorders.  In the past five years, researchers published more than 160 scientific papers in peer-reviewed journals and generated several million dollars in research grants through the center’s Pilot Project Program and from grants funded by the Friends of the ADC.

 “The NIH grant allows us – the researchers and clinicians – to provide research opportunities and cutting-edge therapies to our patients,” said Dr. Mary Quiceno, Assistant Professor of Neurology and the center’s Education and Information Transfer Core Leader. “We are so close to many significant breakthroughs in knowledge and treatments for Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias. Continued involvement in research by investigators and participants gets us nearer these goals.” 

Dr. Rosenberg, Professor of Neurology, holds the Abe (Brunky), Morris and William Zale Distinguished Chair in Neurology.