Watson Award selection panel accepting nominations

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2011 Patricia and William L. Watson, Jr., Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine.

The annual award was established to recognize a physician who has had a profound impact on patients, students, and colleagues through “hands on” clinical care. Nominees should be clinicians whose work embodies innovation in clinical care or recognized as “The Physician’s Physician.”

Dr. Willis Maddrey, assistant to the president, chairs the selection committee, which is made up of faculty physician leaders. The award will be presented in the fall in conjunction with an invited lecture by an eminent national leader in clinical care.

Nominations should be sent to Dr. Maddrey by e-mail (wcmaddrey@utsouthwestern.edu) no later than April 4. The nominating letter should be no longer than two pages and should be accompanied by the CV of the person who is being nominated.

Feb. 19-28, 2011 /