Standouts recognized at Medical Student Research Forum

Dr. David Johnson (left) congratulates oral presenters and the co-chairs for the 49th Annual Medical Student Research Forum recently in the McDermott Lecture Hall. On the front row are (from left) event co-chair Juhee Choi, Jia Wang, co-chair Anandita Agarwala, Sandeep Mehta  and Suzette Toombs. On the back row are Jacob Grange, Jay Coleman, Kathryn Bowman, Viswatej Avatu and Nikhil Narang.

By Lin Lofley / Feb. 19-28, 2011

Twenty-nine UT Southwestern students were recognized in the 49th Annual Medical Student Research Forum, held in January.

Invitations are issued annually for students to submit abstracts of their research for review. This year eight were selected from more than 90 participants for oral presentations. In the forum poster session, more than 60 students presented posters and eight were recognized with awards. The oral presenters and poster prize winners received certificates and cash awards.

Taking part in his first Medical Student Research Forum since becoming chairman of internal medicine, Dr. David Johnson spoke to the participants about the importance of having not just a mentor but the right mentor. “Good mentorship is priceless,” he said. “So choose wisely.”

The oral presenters, their topics and mentors were:

Viswatej Avutu, “Peptide H2009.1 Uptake by αvβ6 in Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer Cells.” Mentor: Dr. Kathlynn Brown, assistant professor of internal medicine

Kathryn Bowman, “Boosting of HIV-Specific CTL Responses Following Therapeutic Vaccination of HIV-Infected Individuals.” Mentors: Drs. Richard Koup and Joseph Casazza, National Institutes of Health

Jay Coleman, “Myocyte Autophagy is Maladaptive in Doxorubicin-induced Cardiotoxicity.” Mentors: Dr. Thomas Gillette, assistant professor of internal medicine, and Dr. Joseph Hill, professor of internal medicine

Jacob Grange, “Regulation of Urine Calcium by Acid-Base and Magnesium.”

Mentor: Dr. Naim Maalouf

Sandeep Mehta, “AMPK Suppresses Autophagy in Redox-Stressed Cardiomyocytes.” Mentors: Dr. Andriy Nemchenko, postdoctoral researcher in internal medicine, and Dr. Hill

Nikhil Narang, Doris Duke Clinical Research Fellow, “Substantial Error in Estimation versus Measurement of Oxygen Consumption: Implications for Clinical Hemodynamic Assessment.” Mentor: Dr. Darren McGuire, associate professor of internal medicine

Suzette Toombs, “Prospective Validation of Prognostic Biomarker Panel for Bladder Cancer Management at Time of Transurethral Resection.” Mentor: Dr. Yair Lotan, associate professor of urology

Jia Wang, “Perioperative Continuation versus Interruption of Oral Hypoglycemic Agents in Type 2 Diabetic Patients Undergoing Ambulatory Surgery.” Mentor: Dr. Adebola Adesanya

Poster session awards went to:

Jules Bergmann, “Relationship Between Childhood Obesity, Maternal Weight Gain in Pregnancy and Fetal Growth.” Mentor: Dr. Charles Rosenfeld, professor of pediatrics

Stephanie Bezner, “Utility of Long-Term Neuroimaging in Patients With Cerebellar Pilocytic Astrocytomas.” Mentor: Dr. Laura Klesse, assistant professor of pediatrics

Kathryn Bowman, “Boosting of HIV-Specific CTL Responses Following Therapeutic Vaccination of HIV-Infected Individuals.” Mentor: Dr. Koup,

Matthew Campbell, “The Metabolic Profile of Early Zebrafish Development.” Mentor: Dr. James Amatruda, assistant professor of pediatrics

Megha Mehta, “What Parents of Overweight Children Want: A Qualitative Study of Parental Expectations Regarding Weight Management in Overweight Children.” Mentors: Dr. Christy Turer, instructor of pediatrics, and Dr. Glenn Flores, professor of pediatrics

Sandeep Mehta, “AMPK Suppresses Autophagy in Redox-Stressed Cardiomyocytes.” Mentors: Drs. Nemchenko and Hill

Khoan Vu, “Analysis of Vibrio parahaemolyticus Pathogenicity in a Germ-Free Mouse Model.” Mentor: Dr. Kim Orth, associate professor of molecular biology

Raj Gondalia, “Unloading-Induced Cardiac Atrophy: Role of Forkhead Transcription Factors.” Mentor: Dr. Hill.

blue bullet_square

Dr. Johnson holds the Donald W. Seldin Distinguished Chair in Internal Medicine.