School of Health Professions graduates 116

By Kristen Holland Shear / Week of Jan. 8-14, 2011

More than 100 students recently strode across the stage before a packed house inside the Tom and Lula Gooch Auditorium as the latest graduates of the UT Southwestern School of Health Professions.

Dr. Daniel K. Podolsky, president of UT Southwestern Medical Center, conferred diplomas to 116 individuals during the Dec. 12 commencement ceremony for students who completed their studies in May or December 2010.

Related Content

Slideshow: 2011 graduation photos

by David Gresham

The graduates included students from physical therapy, physician assistant studies, clinical nutrition, medical laboratory sciences, prosthetics-orthotics and radiation therapy.

Dr. Raul Caetano, dean of the health professions school, presided over the event. Alumnus Donald Cummings provided the opening remarks, and Dr. Jon Williamson, associate dean of the school, presented program descriptions and department chairs.

Dr. Kevin Rudeen, dean of the College of Allied Health and the Stuart C. Miller Professor of Allied Health at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, delivered the commencement address. He encouraged the graduates to strive beyond “good” and become “great” health care professionals.

Beth Deschenes, clinical assistant professor of physical therapy, and Marissa Johnson, instructor of radiation therapy, served as marshals. Magistrates included Dr. Patricia Blau, associate professor of physical therapy; Jason Zafereo, assistant professor of physical therapy; as well as Jennie Hocking and David Klocko, assistant professors of physician assistant studies.

2010 Graduates of UT Southwestern School of Health Professions
Doctor of Physical Therapy
Kelley Allen
Andrina Arenas
Kara Bickel
Tyler Billings
Patrick Cook
Marika Crockett
Whitney Richardson Davis
Jessica DeVore
Fran Duncan
Courtney Duquette
Aaron Fincher
Sarah Good
Lindsey Goodier
Brooke Guyton Ellis
Cara Hartoon
Lauren Hill
Jennifer Kelly
Patricia Knight
Joy Laudenheimer
Teanne Lopez
April Manint
Katharine Merck
Katie Norton
Yvette Pieniadz
Amber Pippen
Kathryn Rasmussen
Kendal Reddell
David Rendon
Erin Renna
Whitney Smith
Michael Sprague
Rachel Stromsmoe
Hiroko Tanaoka
Traci Tiemann
Elise Wendorf
Amy Werner
Whitney Wilson
Master of Physician Assistant Studies
Nicole Adamek
Cynthia Almanza
Devon Burger
Shanna Clawson
Jessica Denney
Hanna Dennis
Amanda Garza Edwards
Tamara Eskue
Jodi Ferraro
Teresa Frohman
Thomas Garrad
Rodolfo Guajardo
Leslie Hornberger
Julie Machuca
Kevin Mainz
Megan McKown
Tiffany Miner
Jeffery Neumann
Anna Piazza
Blair Rose
Alexandria Shorey Ross
Kathryn Ross
Shawn Sommerlad
Matthew Steidl
Julie Stephan
Megan Suhor
Joel Travnicek
Angela Trogus
Gaithri Vivekananthan
Tracy Wright
Joanna Yamoah
Vilailuk Zepeda

Bachelor of Science in Clinical Nutrition
Tanika Carr
April Clark
Pearl Easington
Claire Florsheim
Elizabeth Garvey
Lauren Harrell
Elyse Henson
Cassandra Holt
Ashley May
Kelly McCullough
Rosann Peterson
Rachel Simmons*
Leah Sullivan
Crystal Trull
Ashley Ward
Bachelor of Science
in Medical Laboratory Sciences

Nelson Amolo
Anjali Anand*
Christopher Athon
Bethlehem Bekena
Yareli Cazares
Tina Chen*
Tamika Clay
Prathiba Ganesan
Jeremy Gant
Lauren Gettel
Jordan Hoover
Jeffrey John
Ngozi Kalu*
Jiyuan Li*
Ethelda Mends*
Amanda Willis*
Christina Wolf

Bachelor of Science
in Prosthetics-Orthotics

Raul Amador
Kyle Chapman
Stephanie Flores
Jacqueline Gerber
Elizabeth Ginzel
Randall Hatten
Abbey Hazelbaker
Ashley Koonce
Shelly McClintick
Pete Simpson
Robert Todd
Lori Young

Bachelor of Science in Radiation Therapy

Aline Kadadi
Sienna Kim*
Gloria Solis*

*The candidates received a certificate in their respective field of study.