Russell named vice provost, basic research dean

Dr. David Russell, professor of molecular genetics, has been named vice provost and dean of basic research at UT Southwestern.

The new position’s principal responsibilities will include overseeing the graduate school, maintaining the high quality of leadership in the medical center’s basic science efforts, fostering a scientific environment of excellence by promoting strategic initiatives, and assuring that the medical center stays at the forefront of research technologies.

Dr. David Russell

“Dr. Russell’s insights and leadership will be invaluable in our efforts to maintain the highest level of scientific achievement, train the next generation of scientists and integrate new scientific advances into the clinical sphere,” said Dr. Greg Fitz, executive vice president for academic affairs, provost and dean of UT Southwestern Medical School. “These efforts form the framework for the graduate school and a large number of students and trainees at various stages of their careers.”

Dr. Russell, a Dallas native and a member of the prestigious National Academy of Sciences, completed his undergraduate work at UT Austin, received his Ph.D. at the University of North Carolina and did his postdoctoral training at the University of British Columbia before joining the UT Southwestern faculty in 1982.

“I look forward to working with Dr. Fitz, our basic science faculty and the graduate school administration on issues relating to research and training,” the Dallas native said. “At the top of my rapidly growing to-do list are coordinating genomic sequencing efforts on campus, strengthening mass spectrometry, and, together with Dr. Fitz, recruiting more top-flight immunologists, stem cell biologists, and a new dean of the graduate school.”

Using a variety of experimental approaches, Dr. Russell has developed an outstanding research program in lipid biology and genetics and has received numerous awards, including the Ernst Oppenheimer Award from The Endocrine Society, the Adolf Windaus Prize from the Falk Foundation and the Avanti Award in Lipids from the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. He was elected to the NAS in 2006 and at the medical center has been actively involved in both the graduate school and medical scientist training programs.

— Lin Lofley

blue bullet_square

Dr. Fitz holds the Nadine and Tom Craddick Distinguished Chair in Medical Science and the Atticus James Gill, M.D., Chair in Medical Science.

Dr. Russell holds the Eugene McDermott Distinguished Chair in Molecular Genetics.

Jan. 22-31, 2011 /