Pediatric societies elect five for membership

Five faculty members from the Department of Pediatrics were recently elected to the American Pediatric Society/Society of Pediatric Research.

Dr. Leticia Castillo, professor of pediatrics and head of pediatric critical care, was elected to the American Pediatric Society, which has the goal of “bringing together men and women for the advancement of the study of infants, children and adolescents and their diseases, for the prevention of illness and the promotion of health in childhood, for the promotion of pediatric education and research, and to honor those who, by their contributions to pediatrics, have aided in its advancement.”

New Society of Pediatric Research members are Dr. Andrew Koh, assistant professor of pediatrics and microbiology and director of pediatric hematopoietic stem cell transplantation; Dr. Halim Hennes, professor of pediatrics and surgery and head of pediatric emergency medicine; and Drs. Shelley Crary and Cindy Neunert, both assistant professors of pediatrics in hematology/oncology and both former clinical scholars at
UT Southwestern.

The Society of Pediatric Research (SPR) is designed to encourage early-career investigators engaged in either clinical or laboratory research endeavors that will benefit children.

April 21-30, 2011 /