Class Notes — Jan. 22-31, 2011

Upcoming Medical School Reunion Dates
Thursday, May 5, 2011: Reunion Brunch for the Platinum Classes (1944-1960)
Thursday, May 5, 2011: 50th reunion dinner for the Class of 1961
Friday & Saturday, May 6 & 7, 2011: Medical School Alumni Reunion There will be reunion activities for the following UT Southwestern Medical School classes: 2006, 2001, 1991, 1986, 1981, 1976, 1971, 1966, 1961, Platinum

Medical School
Rev. Lawrence A. Beyer, M.D. (’57)
J. Everett Ware, M.D. (’61)
Joy Robertson-Towns, M.D. (’62)

Harold A. “Pete” Mattson


1958: Lawrence Stone, M.D.: The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) has established the Lawrence A. Stone, M.D. Plenary.  Dr. Stone served as AACAP President from 1995-1997.  

1959: Robert Meadors, M.D., has started a non-profit organization,, to provide free helmet upgrade kits to U.S. troops fighting overseas. 

1977: Daniel Oshman, M.D., is still working with Radiology Associates of Tarrant County and Cook Children’s Medical Center, but is beginning to enjoy some extra weeks off.  Dr. Oshman and his wife, Trudie, are now proud grandparents of Mila Elizabeth Oshman, which is quite a change after raising 3 boys. They see her often and they love it.

1979: Rebecca Shoden, M.D., is in private practice (gynecology) in Albuquerque, N.M.,   and is married to Larry Ollason, a general contractor. The couple has two sons, Steve (24) and Jack (22).  Steve is a second-year student at Creighton Dental School and Jack has just been accepted for admission at the same school. “No doctors in this batch,” Dr. Shoden said.

1980: William A. Peper, M.D., has completed his 5-year quest into winegrape-growing and winemaking has now opened Valley Mills Vineyards Winery in Waco.

1984: Thomas Tucker, M.D., has made the move from Texas to the Pacific Northwest after 20 years in Austin.  “We are enjoying living in a small town with 4 seasons,” Dr. Tucker said. “There is a bunch of white stuff on the ground that people glide around on with sticks on their feet.  It’s all very strange compared to Texas but we love it.”


Daniel M. Siegel, M.D. (Dermatology, 1982-85),  has been elected president of the American Academy of Dermatology, the world’s largest dermatologic society, representing more than 16,000 physicians. His term as president will begin in March 2012.


1999: William T. Doerrler, Ph.D., has announced his tenure and promotion to associate professor in the Department of Biological Sciences at Louisiana State University, in Baton Rouge.

Please send your Class Notes contributions or address changes to the Office of Alumni Affairs, UT Southwestern Medical Center, 5323 Harry Hines Blvd., Dallas, TX 75390-9024, or call them in at 214-648-4539. Contributions may be entered on the website at or by e-mail to" target="_blank.

Jan. 22-31, 2011 /