Alpha Eta Honor Society inducts 19 members

By Kristen Holland Shear / Week of Jan. 8-14, 2011

The UT Southwestern chapter of the national Alpha Eta Honor Society inducted 19 new members during a December initiation ceremony.

With the latest group of scholars, which includes 17 students and two faculty members from the UT Southwestern School of Health Professions, a total of 333 individuals have been inducted into the campus chapter since its founding in November 1988.

The Alpha Eta Honor Society was formed in 1975 by a group of allied health schools to promote scholarship, friendship and recognition of high attainment in the field.

Dr. James Wagner, associate dean for student affairs for UT Southwestern Medical School, gave the keynote speech and urged the initiates to continue to strive for excellence in all areas of their lives.

“Excellence is not an easy road,” Dr. Wagner said. “Excellence is a balance of body, mind and soul. In school, it may be easy to focus on only one of these areas, but all three are critically important.”

Cristina Gonzalez, assistant professor of physician assistant studies and president of Alpha Eta, said she is extremely proud of the initiates because they maintain academic excellence in their programs and they demonstrate leadership.

“These soon-to-be graduates are great role models for future students in that they are great leaders by example,” she said.

Ms. Gonzalez and Bernadette Latson, assistant professor of clinical nutrition and Alpha Eta secretary/treasurer, presented the initiates.

Baccalaureate candidates must have an overall grade point average of 3.5 or better for membership, and master’s degree candidates must have at least a 3.8 grade point average. UT Southwestern faculty members of Alpha Eta recommend and approve the nominees based on their academic standing as well as their leadership and community service.

In order for faculty members to be eligible for membership, they must be part of the chapter’s education program and must either attain tenure or have a minimum of three years of full-time academic experience in their field.

The initiates received a certificate, Alpha Eta lapel pin and green honor cord to wear with their graduation regalia.

The December 2010 Alpha Eta Honor Society initiates are:

Nicole Adamek, physician assistant studies

Andrina Arenas, physical therapy

Dr. Gerald Casenave, rehabilitation counseling faculty

Patrick Cook, physical therapy

Marika Crockett, physical therapy

Claire Florsheim, clinical nutrition

Jacqueline Gerber, prosthetics/orthotics

Abbey Hazelbaker, prosthetics/orthotics

LeAnne Hutson, medical laboratory sciences faculty

Jennifer Ngozi Kalu, medical laboratory sciences

Ashley May Kullman, clinical nutrition

Blair Rose, physician assistant studies

Matthew Steidl, physician assistant studies

Leah Sullivan, clinical nutrition

Amy Werner, physical therapy

Amanda Willis, medical laboratory sciences

Christina Wolf, medical laboratory sciences

Tracy Wright, physician assistant studies