Urologist Roehrborn to receive second annual Watson Award

By Katherine Morales / August 2010

Dr. Claus Roehrborn, chairman of urology, has been named recipient of the second annual Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D., Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine.

Dr. Watson, an alumnus of UT Southwestern, and his wife, Patricia, made a substantial gift to create the award in order to recognize a UT Southwestern clinician whose work exemplifies a commitment to outstanding patient care and advancement of innovative medical therapy. The recipient uses a portion of the income from the endowment fund to enhance clinical innovation.

Dr. Claus Roehrborn was chosen by a panel of colleagues and peers for the Watson Award.

“It’s extremely rewarding to be practicing in a profession I’ve strived for all my life,” Dr. Roehrborn said. “The Watson Award is based on reputation and on the multiple interactions I’ve had with physicians and patients over the years. This award is certainly a tremendous honor for me because those who selected me are my peers.”

Dr. Roehrborn’s clinical interest is treatment of prostate cancer and benign prostatic hyperplasia.

He’s also a national leader in robotic surgery having recently completed his 500th robotically assisted prostatectomy. As chairman of urology, he and his team of physicians, nurses and physician assistants were recently named one of the top 15 urology departments in the country for the second year in a row by U.S. News and World Report.

“I am pleased with our growth in terms of local, regional and national reputation,” Dr. Roehrborn said. “And I certainly hope to continue that success by becoming the first choice among referring physicians for complex urologic cases and continuing to expand national and international awareness of our department.”

Dr. Roehrborn began his medical school training in Giessen, Germany, his native country. After finishing his residency training and completing a postdoctoral scholarship from the American Foundation for Urological Diseases, he became a member of the UT Southwestern faculty in 1992. He became chairman of the Department of Urology in 2002.

Watson Lecture 4 p.m. Nov. 9, D1.600

Dr. Daniel K. Podolsky, president of
UT Southwestern, said, “Dr. Roehrborn is widely regarded as a consummate clinician. He is known for treating patients with respect, kindness and for his unfailing responsiveness to patients and colleagues."

Dr. Roehrborn was selected by a panel of peers and colleagues and will be recognized in a ceremony in conjunction with the annual invited lecture, to be presented by Dr. Glenn Steele, president and CEO of Pennsylvania-based Geisinger Health System.