Reed named chief quality officer for hospitals, clinics

By Erin Prather Stafford / September 2010

Dr. W. Gary Reed, professor of internal medicine and surgery, has been named chief quality officer of UT Southwestern University Hospitals & Clinics and will head the new Office of Quality Improvement and Safety. He had served in the role on an interim basis since Jan. 1.

Dr. W. Gary Reed

The Office of Quality Improvement and Safety oversees clinical quality and patient safety at UT Southwestern, promoting a medical culture that demonstrates an uncompromising commitment to quality patient care and developing educational programs that teach the science of continuous quality improvement to faculty, staff and trainees.

“No medical school can claim a place in the top tier of institutions in the United States without a first-rate quality improvement and patient safety program,” Dr. Reed said. “I see the Office of Quality Improvement and Safety as providing the leadership in this strategic area to ensure UT Southwestern is recognized as one of the top clinical institutions in the U.S.”

Since January, he and his col­leagues have developed the Clinical Safety and Effectiveness Course. An initial class of 21 faculty and staff members will graduate from the course in September as 40 new participants begin instruction.

“I have always been proud of the clinical care delivered by UT Southwestern at our facilities and all affiliated institutions,” said Dr. Reed. “To be asked to head this effort was both an honor and very humbling. Our faculty includes some of the best and brightest physicians and scientists in the world, and I appreciate the opportunity to participate in this important aspect of the institution.”

Dr. Reed received his medical degree from UT Southwestern in 1977 and completed his internship and residency here before joining the faculty in 1980. Last year he was the inaugural recipient of the Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D., Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine.

blue bullet_square

Dr. Reed holds the S.T. Harris Family Distinguished Chair in Internal Medicine, the Eva A. Rosenthal Professorship in Internal Medicine, both given in his honor; and the Sinor/Pritchard Professorship in Medical Education Honoring Donald W. Seldin, M.D.