Newsmakers — September 2010

Dr. Michael Brown and Dr. Joseph Goldstein recently were named winners of the inaugural Earl and Thressa Stadtman Distinguished Scientist Award by the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Recipients of the award receive a plaque and cash prize, and have the opportunity to present a talk at the society’s annual meeting in April. The award was established by friends and colleagues to “preserve the Stadtmans’ legacies as scientists and mentors,” according to the society. Dr. Brown, professor of internal medicine and molecular genetics, directs the Erik Jonsson Center for Research in Molecular Genetics and Human Disease. Dr. Goldstein is chairman of molecular genetics. The pair received the 1985 Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine for their discovery of the underlying mechanisms of cholesterol metabolism.

Dr. David Mangelsdorf, chairman of pharmacology and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator at UT Southwestern, has been named the first holder of the Distinguished Chair in Pharmacology. Dr. Mangelsdorf, who also holds the Doris and Bryan Wildenthal Distinguished Chair in Medical Science, is an internationally prominent researcher in lipid biology. His research focuses on nuclear receptors, proteins that turn genes on and off in the body and serve as sensors in protecting human cells against unusually high and possibly toxic levels of lipids, such as cholesterol and fatty acids. Dr. Mangelsdorf joined the faculty in 1993 and was named chairman of pharmacology in 2006.

Dr. Elizabeth Palmarozzi, clinical vice chair and director of clinical operations in the Department of Family and Community Medicine, has been named holder of the Stanley Gilbert, M.D., Professorship in Family Practice. Dr. Palmarozzi, who also recently was elected president of the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association, was chair of the department of family and community medicine at the University of North Texas Health Science Center from 2002 to 2008. While there, she directed a network of 17 clinics that expanded service lines, increased visits and improved profitability. Her research and publication interests include evidence-based medicine, Type II diabetes, residency education, health policy and women in health professions.

September 2010