Honor Society inducts 7 from School of Health Professions

By Kristen Holland Shear 

February/March 2010

The UT Southwestern chapter of the national Alpha Eta Honor Society inducted seven students from UT Southwestern School of Health Professions during an initiation ceremony Dec. 1.

Initiates were Kathryn Booth, Veronica Castillo, Emily Paslay and Jacquelyne Vickers of physical therapy; and Debra Goode, Isabella Mantel and Molly Montgomery of medical laboratory sciences.

Cristina Gonzalez, assistant professor of physician assistant studies and president of the local chapter, reviewed the history of the organization. She and Bernadette Latson, assistant professor of clinical nutrition and secretary/treasurer of the chapter, presented the initiates.

Ms. Gonzalez said being initiated into Alpha Eta is a tremendous honor for future health professionals.

“The selection criteria are pretty stringent, especially for the graduate programs, which is what most of our programs are turning into,” she said. “This is unquestionably something these students can and should list on their CVs.”

The Alpha Eta Society was formed in 1975 by a group of allied health schools to promote scholarship, friendship and recognition of high attainment in the field. With the latest group of scholars, a total of 314 students and faculty members have been inducted into
UT Southwestern’s chapter since its founding in November 1988.

Baccalaureate candidates must have an overall grade point average of at least 3.5 for membership, and master’s degree candidates must have at least a 3.8 grade point average.

UT Southwestern faculty members of Alpha Eta recommend and approve the nominees based on their academic standing as well as their leadership and community service involvement.

The initiates received a certificate, an Alpha Eta lapel pin and a green honor cord to wear with their graduation regalia.