Class Notes — June/July 2010

In Memoriam

Medical School

Carl A. Zabbia, M.D. (’44)
Don Gustafson, M.D. (’63)
Maudie Marie Graham, M.D. (’65)
Jan Vandersloot, M.D. (’71)

House Staff

Leonard Flohr, M.D.
Eric W. Inge, M.D.
Robert Romero, M.D.

School of Health Professions

Cheryl Weston (’00)

Medical School

1958: Dr. Lawrence A. Stone of Austin has been elected president of The Texas Medical Association’s 50-Year Club, a group of physician leaders who grad­uated from medical school at least 50 years ago but remain dedicated to the mission of continuing to advance medicine.

1986: Dr. Lori M. Watumull of Dallas has been inducted as a fellow in the American College of Radiology.

2004: Dr. Christopher Shane Hall and his wife, Heidi, are pleased to announce the birth of Connor Shane Hall on March 12 in Allen, Texas. Connor Hall weighed 6 pounds, 12 ounces at birth.

Graduate School

1974: Dr. William B. Campbell, chairman of pharmacology and toxicology at The Medical College of Wisconsin, is the recipient of the 2010 Paul M. Vanhoutte Award in Vascular Pharmacology. Dr. Campbell received this honor in recognition of his substantial lifelong scientific achievements and commitment to the identification of local hormones that are produced in the walls of blood vessels and cause dilation of arteries, decrease inflam­mation, maintain blood flow and decrease blood pressure.

2003: Dr. Charles E. Patterson Jr. became vice president for research at Georgia Southern University on April 1. In addition to this new role, Dr. Patterson continues to serve as dean of the Jack N. Averitt College of Graduate Studies.

Please send your Class Notes contributions or address changes to the Office of Alumni Affairs, UT Southwestern Medical Center, 5323 Harry Hines Blvd., Dallas, TX 75390-9024, or call them in at 214-648-4539. Contributions may be entered on the Web site at or by e-mail to