Cannon appointed new associate dean

By Rachel Skei Donihoo

Dr. Stephen Cannon, professor of neurology, has been named UT Southwestern’s new associate dean for undergraduate education — basic sciences. In addition, he will serve as the chairman of the medical center’s Medical Education and Curriculum Committee.

Dr. Stephen Cannon

A well-respected researcher and clinician, Dr. Cannon is the immediate past chairman of neurology, a post he held since joining 
UT Southwestern in 2002.

“Dr. Cannon’s new roles will enable him to help shape the academic environment of UT Southwestern,” said Dr. J. Gregory Fitz, executive vice president for academic affairs and provost and dean of the medical school. “Our curriculum is the foundation on which we integrate the basic and clinical sciences essential for training the best future physicians for careers in clinical care, research and all opportunities in between. I am confident that under Dr. Cannon’s leadership, we will continue an upward trajectory as we plan the curriculum of the future, focusing on more specialized tracks to allow students to develop experience relevant to their individual career goals.”

Dr. Cannon earned a Master of Science degree in mechanical engineering from Washington University in St. Louis in 1980 and a medical degree and a doctorate from Johns Hopkins University in 1986. After completing his internship and residency at Massachusetts General Hospital, he served on the faculty of Harvard Medical School before coming to UT Southwestern.

Dr. Cannon has received numerous honors, including the Derek Denny-Brown Neurological Scholar Award from the American Neurological Association (2000) and a MERIT award from the National Institutes of Health (2008).

“Excellence in medical education has always been a strength and guiding principle at UT Southwestern,” Dr. Cannon said. “Built upon these successes, we have a calling to modernize our approach and better prepare our students for a rapidly changing landscape in health care. I look forward to working with our faculty and students to bring about the changes that will further elevate UT Southwestern as a premier institution for innovative medical education.”

blue bullet_square

Dr. Fitz holds the Nadine and Tom Craddick Distinguished Chair in Medical Science and the Atticus James Gill, M.D., Chair in Medical Science.