Alpha Omega Alpha inducts 40 into honor society chapter

Alpha Omega Alpha, the national medical honor society, recently inducted 37 members into its UT Southwestern chapter. Membership in AOA is for medical students, residents, scientists and physicians in the United States and Canada.

“Election to AOA is based on many things; not only scholarship, but demonstration of ethical standards, leadership and service to the medical school and local community,” said Dr. Kevin Klein, professor of anesthesiology and AOA Councilor for UT Southwestern. “AOA students also participate in the UT Southwestern Colleges program and help mentor underclassmen.”

Each year the AOA National Office offers financial support of up to $3,500 for community service.

This year the service effort, called Project Remedy, helped redistribute unused medical supplies and equipment to areas of the world in need of these items.

“Students do not need to be in AOA to apply, and we try to create a new service project every year,” Dr. Klein said. “We were pleased with the success of this program and proud of the students who dedicated their time and effort.”

Students are elected into AOA during their third or fourth year in medical school.

The outgoing chapter president 
is Dr. Evan Sanath Walgama, and 
the outgoing vice president is Dr. Blake Gregory. The newly elected president is Patricia Purcell, and the vice president is George Lebus.

Below is a complete list of inductees; *denotes junior AOA:

Veeral H. Ajmera*
Krista Ruth Alexander
Eric B. Arnold
Bryant C. Boren III
I. Alex Bowman
Lyle Burdine
Joy Lo Chen
Lee Warren Chen
Mark F. Dalesandro
Jameson Cuyler Dear
Sabih Tariq Effendi*
Emily Rister Gaddis
Kristina Liselotte Goff
Randall B. Graham*
Michael Graves
Blake Gregory*
Elizabeth Ashley Hardin
James C. Harms
Anne C. Hofer*

Rachel Leigh-Ann Jamison
Anthony Nguyen Khuu
Markey C. McNutt
Karim Anthony Meijer
Meghan McDonald Michael
Roshan Pradip Morbia*
Benjamin David Mouser
Purushottam Achyut Nagarkar*
Liliana Nañez
James Wirth Sargent IV
Kathy Lynd Stretch*
Ryan Metri Taylor*
Shena Thomas
Michael David Van Hal*
Christine L. Vigeland
Evan Sanath Walgama*
Maggie W. Waung
Melissa Rasar Young