Top UTSW educators receive prestigious Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Awards

Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award medallion

The UT System Board of Regents has honored 10 members of the faculty at UT Southwestern Medical Center with 2014 Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Awards, which recognize educators in the state’s top institutions for mentoring and personal commitment to students and the learning process.

In all, 96 faculty members from across the UT System’s 15 academic and health institutions were honored at a ceremony Aug. 20 at UT Austin. Each awardee received unrestricted funds of $25,000.

The program – which began in 2008 and was initially limited to general academic institutions – recognizes and honors faculty who deliver the highest-quality instruction in the classroom, the laboratory, the clinics, or online.

“UT Southwestern and the students we teach are indeed fortunate to have these outstanding teachers as members of our faculty,” said Dr. Daniel K. Podolsky, President of UT Southwestern. “We are delighted to see their dedication and skill honored for their effectiveness in this core mission of our institution. We are enormously proud that with these 10 colleagues fully 29 members of our faculty have been recipients of these awards in the three years since the program was extended to the UT Health related institutions," added Dr. Podolsky, who holds the Philip O’Bryan Montgomery, Jr., M.D. Distinguished Presidential Chair in Academic Administration, and the Doris and Bryan Wildenthal Distinguished Chair in Medical Science.

The 2014 UT Southwestern honorees are:

  • Dr. Mark Agostini, Associate Professor of Neurology and Neurotherapeutics;
  • Dr. Keith E. Argenbright, Associate Professor of Clinical Science and in the Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center;
  • Dr. Ravi Bhoja, Associate Professor of Anesthesiology and Pain Management;
  • Dr. Barry R. Botterman, Associate Professor of Cell Biology;
  • Dr. Adam M. Brenner, Associate Professor of Psychiatry;
  • Dr. Stephen Cannon, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education and Professor of Basic Sciences. Dr. Cannon holds the Patricia A. Smith Distinguished Chair in Neuromuscular Disease Research, in honor of Gil Wolfe, M.D.;
  • Dr. Jennifer Cuthbert, Professor of Internal Medicine;
  • Dr. Elliott Frohman, Professor of Neurology and Neurotherapeutics, and Ophthalmology. Dr. Frohman holds the Irene Wadel and Robert Atha Distinguished Chair in Neurology, and the Kenney Marie Dixon-Pickens Distinguished Professorship in M.S. Research.
  • Dr. David E. Greenberg, Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine, and of Microbiology; and
  • Dr. Angela P. Mihalic, Associate Dean for Student Affairs, Professor of Pediatrics.

Considered the top teaching prize in the UT System, the Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Awards program is believed to be among the single largest financial teaching awards program in the country.

“We are proud that these awards support and promote a culture of teaching excellence, especially in undergraduate programs, at all our campuses System-wide,” said Regents Vice Chairman Steven Hicks, chair of the board’s Academic Affairs Committee. “The teachers we are honoring are truly the best of the best.”

In their evaluations of candidates’ teaching performance, members of the review panel considered a range of activities and criteria, including classroom expertise, curricula quality, innovative course development and student learning outcomes.

“Our excellence in teaching faculty is a critical part of the System’s vision of an institution of the first class,” said UT System Chancellor Dr. Francisco G. Cigarroa. “These awards are a reflection of the Regents placing the highest priority on undergraduate, graduate, and professional teaching excellence System-wide.”