About Us

Meet the PI

Ivan Pedrosa, M.D., Chief of MRI. Associate Professor of Radiology

Ivan Pedrosa, M.D., is an Associate Professor of Radiology and the Advanced Imaging Research Center at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. He serves as the Chief of MRI and the director of the Body MRI fellowship program.  He is the holder of the Jack Reynolds, M.D., Chair in Radiology and Co-Leader of the Kidney Cancer Program at the Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center.

Dr. Pedrosa received his M.D. from the University Complutense in Madrid, Spain. He completed his Residency in Radiology at the Hospital Clínico San Carlos in Madrid, Spain, and fellowships in Trauma and Emergency Radiology at Jackson Memorial Hospital in Miami, Florida, and Body MRI at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (BIDMC) in Boston, Massachusetts. In 2002, he was appointed instructor in Radiology at Harvard Medical School and in 2008, Director of Body MRI at BIDMC. In 2010 he was promoted to Associate Professor of Radiology at Harvard Medical School. In 2011 Dr. Pedrosa joined the Department of Radiology at UT Southwestern Medical Center.

Dr. Pedrosa has been awarded numerous honors including the Best Teacher Award of the Department of Radiology at BIDMC (2005), Fellow of the Society of Computed Body Tomography and Magnetic Resonance Imaging (SCBT/MR)(2011), the Lauterbur Award from the SCBT/MR (2012), and the Golden Apple Award for the Best Teacher of the Department of Radiology at UTSW (2014). His NIH-funded translational research program in genitourinary cancers focuses on implementing novel MRI techniques for the identification of vascular MRI measures that correlate to aggressiveness and molecular measures of angiogenesis, and the measures of tumor perfusion as an indicator of initial and acquired resistance to antiangiogenic therapies in metastatic disease. Dr. Pedrosa has over 150 peer-review publications, reviews, book chapters, and editorials and has been an invited speaker over 95 times to national and international meetings. He is a member of the American College of Radiology Imaging Network (ACRIN) Experimental Imaging Science Committee and the Renal Cancer Task Force of the Genitourinary Steering Committee of the National Cancer Institute (NCI).