About Us

Current Lab Members

Ivan D'Orso

Ivan D'Orso, Ph.D.

Principal Investigator 

ivan.dorso@utsouthwestern.edu

 
Curtis Bacon


Curtis Bacon

Graduate Student, Biological Chemistry
2015 – Present
curtis.bacon@utsouthwestern.edu
Curtis focuses on the mechanisms that govern transcriptional regulation in normal and disease states, such as cancer. Read more about his research.

 
Ashwini Challa


Ashwini Challa

Research Assistant
2017 – Present
ashwini.challa@utsouthwestern.edu
Ashwini is working towards completing a global comparative analysis of RNA polymerase II elongation complexes in eukaryotic cells.

 
Usman Hyder

Usman Hyder

Undergraduate student, UT Dallas
2017 – Present
usman.hyder@utsouthwestern.edu
Usman is working towards determining how the transcription elongation factor KAP1 recognizes chromatin at target gene promoters to exert transcription activation.

 
Emily Cruz-Lorenzo

Emily Cruz-Lorenzo
Lab Manager
2016 – Present
emily.cruz-lorenzo@utsouthwestern.edu

 
Zheng Ma

Zheng Ma. Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Researcher
2015 – Present
zheng.ma@utsouthwestern.edu
Zheng is interested in defining how KAP1 coordinates the recruitment of elongation factors to chromatin to promote transcription and pre-mRNA processing.

 
Chi Pak

Chi Pak, Ph.D.
Research Associate
2016 – Present
chi.pak@utsouthwestern.edu
Chi is interested in determining cis-positioning effects on HIV proviral fate (active or silent transcription leading to pathogenic or non-pathogenic states, respectively)

Nora Ramirez


Nora-Guadalupe Ramirez 

Graduate Student, Molecular Microbiology
2014 – Present
nora-guadalupe.ramirez@utsouthwestern.edu
Nora is interested in defining new pathways that control the establishment and maintenance of HIV proviral latency in CD4 T cells using an unbiased gain-of-function approach with human cDNAs.