people

People

Dr. Nicholas Conrad

Nicholas K. Conrad, Ph.D.

Associate Professor/Principal Investigator
Faculty Profile
Nicholas.conrad@utsouthwestern.edu

B.S., Biochemistry, Penn State University
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University (Mentor: Jeffry L. Corden, Ph.D.)
Postdoctoral Fellow, Yale University (Mentor: Joan A. Steitz, Ph.D.)
Damon Runyon Scholar (20022005)
Southwestern Medical Foundation Scholar in Biomedical Research (2007–present)


Olga Volovnik Hunter

Technician
olga.hunter@utsouthwestern.edu

B.S., Biochemistry and Cell Biology
University of California, San Diego

Olga works on a variety of projects and manages the lab.


Kathryn Pendleton

Aparna Anantharaman, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Researcher
aparna.anantharaman@utsouthwestern.edu

B.S., Zoology
University of Delhi, India
M.S., Plant Molecular Biology
University of Delhi, India
Ph.D., Biosciences
International Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, New Delhi, India

Aparna works on the posttranscriptional regulation of influenza gene expression.


Kathryn Pendleton

Kathryn Pendleton

Graduate Student
kathryn.pendleton@utsouthwestern.edu

B.S., Biochemistry
University of Texas, Austin

Kathryn examines the regulation of splicing and nuclear decay of cellular (pre)mRNAs.


Kathryn Pendleton

Julio Ruiz, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Researcher
julio.ruiz@utsouthwestern.edu

B.S., Basic Medical Sciences
University of Alabama, Mobile
Ph.D., Biochemistry
UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas

Julio examines the molecular mechanisms of ORF57-mediated inhibition of nuclear RNA decay.


Anna Brown

Graduate Student
anna.brown@utsouthwestern.edu

B.S., Biochemistry
University of Texas, Austin

Anna examines the mechanisms regulating intron retention of the SAM synthetase MAT2A.

 


Former Lab Members

Brooke B. Sahin
Technician (2007-2009)
Denish Patel
Technician (2008-2009)
Xiangmei Xi
Postdoc (2008-2009)
Mariya Ilcheva
Mariya Ilcheva
     SURF      (2009)
Patrick Hunt
Patrick Hunt
     SURF      (2012)
Aaron Key
Aaron Key
    STARS     (2010)
Blake Richardson
Blake Richardson
SURF (2011)
Allyson Hunter
Allyson Hunter
Technician (2012-2013)
Sarah Stubbs
Sarah Stubbs
Student (2009-2013)
Emi Sei
Emi Sei
Student (2009-2014)
Stefan Bresson, Student (2010-2014)
Stefan Bresson, Student (2010-2014)
Sung-Kyun Park, Postdoc (2014-2016)
Bryan Cobo Torres, SURF (2016)