Dr. Bruce Beutler awarded 2011 Nobel Prize

Dr. Beutler was awarded the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his discovery of the toll-like receptor (TLR) proteins that recognize disease-causing agents and activate innate immunity. Dr. Beutler joins the ranks of other UT Southwestern Nobel laureates: Michael Brown, M.D., Joseph Goldstein, M.D., Johann Deisenhofer, Ph.D., and Alfred Gilman, M.D., Ph.D. Read more.