

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

FELLOW GRANTS, AWARDS, PRIZES AT NATIONAL MEETINGS

PETER G. DREWES, MD (2003-2006)

- 2005 Basic Science Prize Paper award, American Urogynecologic Society (AUGS) 26th Annual Scientific Meeting, Atlanta, Georgia: Pregnancy changes in elastin and fibulin-5 protein in mouse vagina.
- 2005 President's Award resident/fellow first prize in gynecologic research, Society of Gynecologic Surgeons (SGS) 31st Annual Scientific Meeting, Rancho Mirage, California: Vascular anatomy over the iliopubic rami in female cadavers.
- 2005 Junior Faculty Development Award, Berlex Foundation.
- 2006 President's Presenter Award, Society for Gynecologic Investigation annual meeting: Toronto, Ontario, Canada: Pelvic organ prolapse in fibulin-5 knockout mice: elastic fiber homeostasis in the vaginal wall during pregnancy, parturition, and the puerperium.

CECILIA K. WIESLANDER, MD (2004-2007)

- 2005 Pfizer Fellow Award to attend 4th Annual International Seminar on Female Urology and Urogynecology, Las Vegas, Nevada
- 2005 Best Video Award, American Urogynecologic Society (AUGS) 26th Annual Scientific Meeting, Atlanta, Georgia: Avoiding nerve injury during gynecologic surgery.
- 2006 Junior Faculty Development Award, Berlex Foundation.
- 2006 Fellows 1st Prize Paper, Society of Gynecologic Surgeons (SGS) 32nd Annual Scientific Meeting, Tucson, Arizona: Vascular anatomy of the presacral space in unembalmed female cadavers.
- 2006 Basic Science Outstanding Paper Award: Pelvic Organ Prolapse Severity Increases with Age in Fibulin-5 Knockout (FbIn-5 KO) Mice. American

Urogynecologic Society (AUGS) 27th Annual Scientific Meeting, Palm Springs, California.

- 2006 June Allyson Annual Meeting Education Grant
- 2007 President's Presenter Award: Regulation of Protease Activity in Vaginal Tissues from Fibulin-5 Knockout Mice and During Normal Pregnancy, Parturition, and the Puerperium. Society for Gynecologic Investigation (SGI) 54th Annual Scientific Meeting, Reno, Nevada.

DAVID D. RAHN, MD (2005-2008)

- 2006 The ACOG/Ortho-McNeil Academic Fellowship Training Award: The effect of pregnancy, partuition and fourth degree laceration on the function of the external anal sphincter.
- 2007 AUGS Foundation Fellow Scholar: Pelvic organ prolapse in Fibulin-3 knockout mice
- 2008 President's Award for Outstanding Research in Gynecologic Surgery, 34th Annual Scientific Meeting of the Society of Gynecologic Surgeons: Abdominal hysterectomy with or without "angle stitch": Correlation with subsequent vaginal vault prolapse.

SHAYZREEN M. ROSHANRAVAN, MD (2006-2009)

- 2008 UT Southwestern Clinical and Translational Science Pilot Award Grant: Effect of preoperative estrogen treatment on connective tissues of the pelvic floor
- 2008 2nd Prize Video Award, 56th Annual Meeting of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists: Fourth Degree Obstetrical Lacerations: Anatomy and Repair.

AMANDA WHITE, MD (2007-2010)

- 2008 ACOG/ Ortho Women's Health and Urology Academic Training Fellowship in Obstetrics and Gynecology: Accelerating wound healing after external anal sphincter injury: satellite cell recruitment.
- 2009 Basic Scientific Paper Award, 30th Annual Scientific Meeting of the American Urogynecologic Society: Effect of myogenic stem cells on contractile properties of repaired and non-repaired external anal sphincter transection.

SUJATHA PATHI, MD (2008-2011)

- 2009 Exxcellence in Clinical Research, Foundation for Exxcellence in Women's Health Care, American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology
- 2010 American Urogynecologic Society/ Astellas Research Award: Recovery of the anal sphincter complex from birth trauma: role of mesenchymal stem cells.
- 2010 Basic Science Paper Award, 31st Annual Scientific Meeting of the American Urogynecologic Society: Epithelial stromal interactions regulate lox gene expression in the vaginal wall.

SUNIL BALGOBIN, MD (2009-2012)

- 2011 International Urogynecologic Association Basic Research Award: Repeat injury to the external anal sphincter: contractile properties and morphologic changes over time.
- 2011 Best Resident/Fellow Paper Award 31st Annual Scientific Meeting of the American Urogynecologic Society: Estrogen alters remodeling of the vaginal wall after posterior colpo-perineorrhaphy: potential mechanisms.

TEODORO MONTOYA, MD (2010-2013)

- 2011 President's Fellow Award Outstanding Research in Gynecologic Surgery, 37th Annual Scientific Meeting of the Society of Gynecologic Surgeons: Anatomic relationships of the pudendal nerve ranches: assessment of injury risk with common surgical procedures.
- 2012 American Urogynecologic Society/ June Allyson Foundation Research Fellowship Award: Utility of myogenic stem cell-laden hydrogel scaffold in wound healing of the disrupted external anal sphincter.
- 2013 Fellow's 2nd Prize Award Outstanding Research in Gynecologic Surgery, 39th Annual Scientific Meeting of the Society of Gynecologic Surgeons: Risks for venous thromboembolism in women undergoing pelvic reconstructive surgery.

MEADOW GOOD, DO (2011-2014)

2013 American Urogynecologic Society/ June Allyson Foundation Research Fellowship Award: Fibulin-5 Enhances Wound Healing in the Vaginal Vault

KATHLEEN CHIN, MD (2012-2015)

- 2013 NAMS/Pfizer Medical Residents, Fellows & DNPs In-Training Award
- 2014 American Urogynecologic Society- Pelvic Floor Disorders Mesh/Graft Science in Pelvic Reconstructive Surgery Research Grant: Therapeutic Potential of Protease Inhibitors in the Vaginal Wall Alternatives to Mesh.

PEDRO MALDONADO, MD (2013-2016)

- 2015 American Urogynecologic Society/PFD Research Grant: Effects of ospemifene and vaginal estrogen on the vaginal wall before and after injury
- 2015 Fellow's 2nd Prize Award Outstanding Research in Gynecologic Surgery, Society of Gynecologic Surgeons: Proximity of uterosacral ligament suspension sutures and sacral nerve roots to pelvic anatomic landmarks.

CHRISTOPHER RIPPERDA, MD (2014-2017)

2017 American Urogynecologic Society Basic Science Prize Paper: Vaginal estrogen a dual edged sword in the postoperative healing of the vaginal wall.

MARIA FLORIAN-RODRIGUEZ, MD (2015-2018)

- 2017 Fellow's 2nd Prize Award Outstanding Research in Gynecologic Surgery, Society of Gynecologic Surgeons: First sacral nerve and anterior longitudinal ligament anatomy: clinical applications during sacrocolpopexy.
- 2017 American Urogynecologic Society Fellows Prize Paper: Role of protease inhibitors in healing of the vaginal wall.
- 2018 Dedman Scholar in Clinical Care, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

- 2018 American Urogynecologic Society Best Basic Science Symposium Presentation: Impact of Age and Long Term Estrogen Deprivation in the Rat Vaginal Wall and Effect of Vaginal Estrogen on Healing of the Vaginal Wall with Aging and Long-Term Estrogen Withdrawal
- 2018 American Urogynecologic Society Best Video: Anatomy of the Retropubic Space and Clinical Applications

JENNIFER HAMNER, DO (2016-2019)

- 2018 Society of Gynecologic Surgery President's Award for Best Fellow Paper: Patient Knowledge & Preference Regarding Hysterectomy Route. FPRN Project.
- 2018 American Urogynecologic Society Basic Science Prize Paper: Protease Inhibition Improves Healing of the Vaginal Wall after Delivery with Simulated Obstetrical Injury: Results from a Preclinical Animal Model

LINDSEY JACKSON, MD (2017-2020)

2018 The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Southwestern Academy of Teachers (SWAT) Educational Grant, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, TX

POLINA SAWYER, MD (2019-2022)

2021 2nd Place Award Best Video for Trainees and Fellows, International Urogynecological Association: The PACU Vaginal Hysterectomy Model