

Watson Award Winner Named

August 25, 2009

To the UT Southwestern Community:

Earlier this year, I announced the establishment of the Patricia and William L. Watson, Jr., M.D., Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine, endowed by a generous gift from Dr. and Mrs. Watson. In making this noteworthy gift, Dr. and Mrs. Watson asked that it be used to recognize a physician who has a profound impact on patients and their families through "hands-on" clinical care - "The Physician's Physician."

I am very pleased to announce that Dr. W. Gary Reed, Professor of Internal Medicine, will be the first recipient of this important award. He was selected by a committee of clinical department leaders from among many deserving candidates nominated by colleagues throughout the medical center.

As a clinician, Dr. Reed has served as a role model for legions of students, residents and junior faculty. As described in a letter of nomination, he brings to his commitment to patient care a brilliant intellect, a constantly inquiring mind, and a calm, reassuring manner. These characteristics impart to patients and their families the confidence that they are receiving exemplary medical care.

Dr. Reed received his medical degree from UT Southwestern Medical School in 1977 and completed his internship and residency at UT Southwestern prior to joining our faculty as Assistant Professor. He became Professor of Internal Medicine in 1990 and today serves as Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs at Parkland Memorial Hospital within the Department of Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern. Dr. Reed holds the S.T. Harris Family Distinguished Chair in Internal Medicine, the Eva A. Rosenthal Professorship in Internal Medicine and the Sinor/Pritchard Professorship in Medical Education Honoring Donald W. Seldin, M.D. In every way, he exemplifies the criteria Dr. and Mrs. Watson sought to recognize with this award.

The Watson Award will be presented each year in conjunction with a special campus lecture featuring an eminent clinical leader. This year's lecture will occur on Nov. 9, 2009, at 4 p.m. in the D1.600 lecture hall. I take great pleasure also in announcing that Dr. Willis C. Maddrey, internationally prominent physician and expert in clinical hepatology who has made enormous contributions here at UT Southwestern, will speak on the topic "The Effective Clinician." Dr. Maddrey is Executive Vice President for Clinical Affairs and holder of the Adelyn and Edmund M. Hoffman Distinguished Chair in Medical Science and the Arnold N. and Carol S. Ablon Professorship in Biomedical Science.

I hope you will plan to attend the presentation of the inaugural Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D., Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine Lecture on Nov. 9 and join me in congratulating Drs. Reed and Maddrey.

Daniel K. Podolsky, M.D. President, UT Southwestern Medical Center