JT SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER

Watson Award Recipient

June 13, 2011

To the UT Southwestern Community:

I am very pleased to announce that Dr. Duke Samson has been selected to be the 2011 recipient of the Patricia and William L. Watson, Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine. In making their generous gift to establish this annual award, Dr. and Mrs. Watson wished to create an opportunity for the UT Southwestern community to recognize a physician on the faculty who has had a profound impact through "hands on" clinical care. The recipient is expected to have demonstrated a commitment to innovation in clinical care and to be widely regarded as a "physician."

Dr. Duke Samson is clearly such a clinician. An internationally renowned vascular neurosurgeon, he has been a model of clinical commitment and excellence for his colleagues in the Department of Neurosurgery and for clinicians across the campus since joining the UT Southwestern faculty in 1975. He has served as the Chair of Neurosurgery for more than 25 years and has held the Lois C.A. and Darwin E. Smith Distinguished Chair in Neurological Surgery since 1995.

The Watson Award will be presented next fall in conjunction with the Watson Visiting Lecture. This year's speaker will be Dr. Jeffrey Drazen, Editor-in-Chief of *The New England Journal of Medicine*.

I wish to thank Dr. Willis Maddrey for chairing the Watson Award Selection Committee and the faculty who served as members. We all appreciated the thoughtful efforts of those who submitted nominations and were pleased and impressed to have so many deserving candidates identified by colleagues throughout the Medical Center.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Samson, and please plan to attend the Watson Award and Lecture on Monday, Nov. 14, 2011, at 5 p.m. in the Zale Foundation Lecture Hall (D1.600).

Daniel K. Podolsky, M.D. President, UT Southwestern Medical Center