UT Southwestern Medical Center

Call for Nominations – Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards

June 5, 2023

To the UT Southwestern Community:

We are pleased to announce that nominations are now being accepted for the 2023 Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards.

Since 2018, we have had the honor of recognizing clinical faculty across our many sites of service for their exceptional contributions to the care of our patients, to the education and training of the next generation of health care professionals, and to UT Southwestern overall.

Today, we invite and encourage each of you to nominate deserving UTSW clinical faculty for any of the seven awards. Among them is the Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine – our institution's highest honor in clinical care.

Please take a moment to review the award categories listed below and to familiarize yourselves with the nominee eligibility requirements. We hope you will share your insights into clinical faculty whose contributions merit special recognition.

<u>Nominations will be accepted online</u> through **Wednesday, July 19**. All nominations will be reviewed by a faculty awards committee, co-chaired once again by Dr. John Mansour, Professor of Surgery and Vice Chair of Quality in the Department of Surgery, and Dr. Maeve Sheehan, Professor of Pediatrics and Vice Chair for Clinical Operations.

The 2023 awards ceremony will be held in person, with an option to join virtually, on November 9 in the Tom and Lula Gooch Auditorium.

We look forward to recognizing all our Leaders in Clinical Excellence honorees and to gathering together with you to celebrate their extraordinary work.

Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine Established in 2009 through a gift from Dr. William L. Watson Jr. – a UT Southwestern alumnus – and his wife, Patricia, the Watson Award provides the opportunity to recognize a UT Southwestern faculty physician who exemplifies excellence in patient care, is a leader in advancing clinical innovations, and has had a profound impact on students, trainees, colleagues, and patients.

Rising Star Award

This award recognizes exceptional early-career clinical faculty whose actions and activities consistently exemplify enthusiasm, commitment, professionalism, and leadership.

Institutional Service Award

This award honors clinical faculty who consistently share time and expertise in service to internal committees, task forces, and other institutional activities that make a significant impact on the care delivered to UT Southwestern patients.

Mentoring Award

This award celebrates clinicians who demonstrate exceptional commitment and effectiveness as mentors to health care providers.

Patient and Family Recognition Award

This award honors clinical faculty whose dedication to the compassionate, respectful delivery of exceptional patient care has garnered the highest degree of patient trust and satisfaction.

Program Development Award

This award celebrates the innovation and collaboration that are foundational to the success of UT Southwestern Medical Center. It recognizes a group of clinical faculty and staff who have partnered to create, develop, and sustain an innovative program that significantly advances our ability to improve patient care.

The President's Award for Diversity and Humanism in Clinical Care

This award honors clinical faculty who exemplify the humanistic spirit of patient-centered medicine, both through clinical excellence and in outstanding compassion in the delivery of care.

More information about the awards, eligibility requirements, and the nomination process can be found on the <u>Clinical Faculty Awards website</u>.

Daniel K. Podolsky, M.D. President, UT Southwestern Medical Center

W. P. Andrew Lee, M.D. Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Dean, UT Southwestern Medical School