

2020 Leaders in Clinical Excellence Award Winners

October 5, 2020

To the UT Southwestern Community:

Dr. W. P. Andrew Lee, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Provost, and Dean of the Medical School; Dr. John Warner, Executive Vice President for Health System Affairs; and I are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 UT Southwestern Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards, including the Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine, UT Southwestern's highest honor in clinical care.

Established in 2018, these awards recognize the exceptional contributions of clinical faculty to the care of our patients, to the education of the next generation of health care professionals, and to UT Southwestern overall. There are seven award categories in total. Our 2020 recipients represent the best of UT Southwestern, and their efforts are an inspiration to us all.

This year's recipients are identified below. We invite you to read more about each of them in an upcoming feature in *Center Times Plus* as well as in a future print edition of *Center Times*. The award **ceremony will be conducted virtually this year at 4:30 p.m. December 2, 2020,** and will be livestreamed so that the entire campus community can watch. The ceremony will also be recorded for later viewing.

Please join Dr. Lee, Dr. Warner, and me in congratulating the 2020 award recipients, as well as all of our nominees – nearly 150 in total. We are grateful for the outstanding slate of nominations received. A special thanks also to the members of the selection committee, led once again by Drs. John Mansour and Maeve Sheehan, for all of their efforts in helping us recognize and celebrate clinical excellence at UT Southwestern.

Daniel K. Podolsky, M.D. President, UT Southwestern Medical Center

2020 Leaders in Clinical Excellence Award Recipients

Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine

This award, UT Southwestern's highest honor in clinical care, recognizes a UT Southwestern clinician who exemplifies excellence in patient care and is a leader in advancing clinical innovation. It honors a

faculty member who has had a profound impact on patients, students, trainees, and colleagues through the quality of his or her clinical work.

Mark Drazner, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine

Rising Star Award

This award recognizes exceptional early career clinical faculty whose actions and activities consistently exemplify commitment, professionalism, and leadership.

Jaime Almandoz, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine
Neil Desai, M.D., Department of Radiation Oncology
Bradley Lega, M.D., Department of Neurological Surgery
Megan Maxwell, M.D., Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Management

Institutional Service Award

This award honors clinical faculty who consistently share time and expertise in service to internal committees, task forces, and other institutional activities that make a significant impact on the care delivered to UT Southwestern patients.

Cecelia Brewington, M.D., Department of Radiology **Carol Croft, M.D.**, Department of Internal Medicine

Mentoring Award

This award celebrates clinicians who demonstrate exceptional commitment and effectiveness as a mentor to health care providers.

Susan Hedayati, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine **Una Makris, M.D.**, Department of Internal Medicine

Patient and Family Recognition Award

This award honors clinical faculty whose dedication to the compassionate, respectful delivery of exceptional patient care has garnered the highest degree of patient trust and satisfaction.

Kevin Courtney, M.D., Ph.D., Department of Internal Medicine **A. Thomas Hyslop, M.D.**, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology **Catherine Ikemba, M.D.**, Department of Pediatrics **Joel Wells, M.D., M.P.H.**, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery

Program Development Award

This award celebrates the innovation and collaboration that are foundational to the success of UT Southwestern Medical Center. It recognizes a group of clinical faculty and staff who have worked together as a team to create, develop, and sustain an innovative program that significantly advances our ability to improve the care received by our patients.

Abdominal Transplant Program, led by Steven Hanish, M.D., Department of Surgery Jorge Marrero, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine Parsia Vagefi, M.D., Department of Surgery David Wojciechowski, D.O., Department of Internal Medicine

Care of the Vulnerable Elderly (COVE) Program, led by Namirah Jamshed, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine

President's Award for Diversity and Humanism in Clinical Care

This award honors clinical faculty who exemplify the humanistic spirit of patient-centered medicine, both through clinical excellence and in outstanding compassion in the delivery of care.

Naomi Winick, M.D., Department of Pediatrics