# UT Southwestern Medical Center

# Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards 2019

Oct. 8, 2019

Dr. Andrew Lee, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Provost, and Dean of the Medical School; Dr. John Warner, Executive Vice President for Health System Affairs; and I are very pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019 UT Southwestern Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards. This program was established last year by the Board of Directors of the UT Southwestern Medical Group to honor the exceptional contributions of clinical faculty to the care of our patients, to the education of the next generation of health care professionals, and to UT Southwestern overall. Beginning this year, the Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine, which remains UT Southwestern's highest honor for clinical care, has been incorporated into the Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards, so the program now comprises seven categories of awards.

The 2019 recipients of these awards are identified below. Each recipient represents the commitment and dedication to high-quality patient care that has earned UT Southwestern increasing recognition in recent years, both locally and nationally. Each also serves as an inspiration to all of us in the delivery of care to our patients and in service to our institution.

We invite you to read more about each of the recipients in an upcoming feature on <u>Center Times</u> <u>Plus</u> and in the November print edition of <u>Center Times</u>. In the meantime, **please plan to attend the award ceremony at 4:30 p.m. on November 6 in Gooch Auditorium**. It will be followed by a celebration reception on McDermott Plaza (weather permitting). We look forward to the ceremony and reception becoming an annual event for the entire campus community.

Please join Dr. Lee, Dr. Warner, and me in congratulating the 2019 award recipients, and indeed all of our nominees, for their outstanding efforts. We also wish to thank everyone who submitted nominations, as well as the members of the selection committee, led by Drs. John Mansour and Maeve Sheehan, for their time and care in evaluating the more than 100 excellent nominations received from the UT Southwestern community.

Daniel K. Podolsky, M.D. President, UT Southwestern Medical Center

### 2019 Leaders in Clinical Excellence Award Recipients

## Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine

This award, UT Southwestern's highest honor in clinical care, recognizes a UT Southwestern clinician who exemplifies excellence in patient care and is a leader in advancing clinical innovations. Further, it

honors a faculty member who has had a profound impact on patients, students, trainees, and colleagues through the quality of his or her clinical work.

Robert Timmerman, M.D., Department of Radiation Oncology

#### **Rising Star Award**

This award recognizes exceptional early career clinical faculty whose actions and activities consistently exemplify enthusiasm, commitment, professionalism, and leadership.

Jaclyn Albin M.D., Department of Pediatrics Aditya Bagrodia, M.D., Department of Urology David Fetzer, M.D., Department of Radiology Dale Okorodudu, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine

#### **Institutional Service Award**

This award honors clinical faculty who consistently share time and expertise in service to internal committees, task forces, and other institutional activities that make a significant impact on the care delivered to UT Southwestern patients.

Barry Schwarz, M.D., Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology DuWayne Willett, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine

#### **Mentoring Award**

This award celebrates clinicians who demonstrate exceptional commitment and effectiveness as a mentor to health care providers.

Ponciano Cruz Jr., M.D., Department of Dermatology

#### Patient and Family Recognition Award

This award honors clinical faculty whose dedication to the compassionate, respectful delivery of exceptional patient care has garnered the highest degree of patient trust and satisfaction.

Daniel Costa, M.D., Department of Radiology Meridythe (Ashley) Hickman Zink, M.D., Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology Hugh McClung, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine Pamela Okada, M.D., Department of Pediatrics

#### **Program Development Award**

This award celebrates the innovation and collaboration that are foundational to the success of UT Southwestern Medical Center. It recognizes a group of clinical faculty and staff who have partnered to create, develop, and sustain an innovative program that significantly advances our ability to improve the care received by our patients.

Outpatient Psychiatry Multi-Specialty Program Hicham Ibrahim, M.D., Department of Psychiatry

Kidney Cancer Program James Brugarolas, M.D., Ph.D., Department of Internal Medicine

# President's Award for Diversity and Humanism in Clinical Care

This award honors clinical faculty who exemplify the humanistic spirit of patient-centered medicine, both through clinical excellence and in outstanding compassion in the delivery of care.

Heidi Roman, M.D., Department of Pediatrics