

2021 Leaders in Clinical Excellence Award Winners

Oct. 25, 2021

To the UT Southwestern Community:

Dr. John Warner, Executive Vice President for Health System Affairs; Dr. W. P. Andrew Lee, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Provost, and Dean of the Medical School; and I are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2021 UT Southwestern Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards, including the Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine, UT Southwestern's highest honor in clinical care.

Established in 2018, these awards recognize the exceptional contributions of clinical faculty for the care of our patients, the education of the next generation of health care professionals, and the advancement of UT Southwestern overall. There are seven award categories in total. Once again, this year's award recipients and nominees represent the best of UT Southwestern, and their efforts are an inspiration to us all.

The 2021 Leaders in Clinical Excellence Award recipients are identified below. We invite you to read more about each winner in an upcoming feature on Center Times Plus, as well as in a future print edition of Center Times. The awards **ceremony will be held at 4:30 p.m., December 1, 2021**. More details on the event will be forthcoming.

Please join Dr. Lee, Dr. Warner, and me in congratulating the 2021 award recipients, as well as all of our nominees. We had an outstanding slate – 180 nominations in total. Thank you to everyone who took the time to recognize these deserving colleagues. A special thank-you also goes to members of the Leaders in Clinical Excellence selection committee, led once again by Drs. John Mansour and Maeve Sheehan, for their contributions to celebrating clinical excellence at UT Southwestern.

Daniel K. Podolsky, M.D. President, UT Southwestern Medical Center

2021 Leaders in Clinical Excellence Award Recipients

Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine

This award, UT Southwestern's highest honor in clinical care, recognizes a UT Southwestern clinician who exemplifies excellence in patient care and is a leader in advancing clinical innovation. It honors a

faculty member who has had a profound impact on patients, students, trainees, and colleagues through the quality of his or her clinical work.

Diane Twickler, M.D., Department of Radiology

Rising Star Award

This award recognizes exceptional early-career clinical faculty whose actions and activities consistently exemplify commitment, professionalism, and leadership.

Emily Adhikari, M.D., Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology **Reuben Arasaratnam, M.D.**, Department of Internal Medicine **Dharam Kumbhani, M.D.**, Department of Internal Medicine **Nina Sanford, M.D.**, Department of Radiation Oncology

Institutional Service Award

This award honors clinical faculty who consistently share time and expertise in service to internal committees, task forces, and other institutional activities that make a significant impact on the care delivered to UT Southwestern patients.

James Griffin, M.D., Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Management Roberta "Robin" Novakovic, M.D., Department of Radiology

Mentoring Award

This award celebrates clinicians who demonstrate exceptional commitment and effectiveness as a mentor to health care providers.

Lina Chalak, M.D., Department of Pediatrics **Sunati Sahoo, M.D.**, Department of Pathology **William Turner, M.D.**, Department of Surgery

Patient and Family Recognition Award

This award honors clinical faculty whose dedication to the compassionate, respectful delivery of exceptional patient care has garnered the highest degree of patient trust and satisfaction.

Becky Ennis, M.D., Department of Pediatrics **Nisa Kubiliun, M.D.**, Department of Internal Medicine **Padmaja Reddy, M.D.**, Department of Internal Medicine

Program Development Award

This award celebrates the innovation and collaboration that are foundational to the success of UT Southwestern Medical Center. It recognizes a group of clinical faculty and staff who have worked together as a team to create, develop, and sustain an innovative program that significantly advances our ability to improve the care received by our patients.

Breast Reconstruction Program, led by Nicholas Haddock, M.D., Department of Plastic Surgery **Sumeet Teotia, M.D.**, Department of Plastic Surgery

COVID-19 ICU Response Teams

COVID-19 ICU Teams, led by
Kristina Goff, M.D., Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Management
Corey Kershaw, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine
Matthew Leveno, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine

Parkland COVID ICU Family Outreach Program, led by Padmaja Reddy, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine

COVID ICU Communications Team, led by Kala Bailey, M.D., Department of Psychiatry

President's Award for Diversity and Humanism in Clinical Care

This award honors clinical faculty who exemplify the humanistic spirit of patient-centered medicine, both through clinical excellence and in outstanding compassion in the delivery of care.

Cindy Darnell Bowens, M.D., Department of Pediatrics