

2022 Leaders in Clinical Excellence Award Winners

September 22, 2022

To the UT Southwestern Community:

Dr. John Warner, Executive Vice President for Health System Affairs and Health System CEO; Dr. W. P. Andrew Lee, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Provost, and Dean of the Medical School; and I are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022 UT Southwestern Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards.

Established in 2018, these awards recognize clinical faculty across our many sites of service for their exceptional contributions to the care of our patients, to the education and training of the next generation of health care professionals, and to the advancement of UT Southwestern overall. There are seven award categories in total, including the Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine, UT Southwestern's highest honor in clinical care. This year's award recipients, as always, represent the best of UT Southwestern, and their efforts are an inspiration to us all.

We invite you to read more about each winner identified below in an upcoming feature on *Center Times Plus*, as well as in a future print edition of *Center Times*. We also hope you will join us at the awards **ceremony on November 10 at 4:30 p.m. in the Tom and Lula Gooch Auditorium**. More details will be forthcoming.

Please join Dr. Warner, Dr. Lee, and me in congratulating the 2022 award recipients as well as all our nominees. We had 221 nominations in total – our highest number to date. Thank you to everyone who took the time to recognize these deserving colleagues. A special thanks also goes to members of the Leaders in Clinical Excellence selection committee, led once again by Drs. John Mansour and Maeve Sheehan, for all their efforts in helping us recognize and celebrate clinical excellence at UT Southwestern.

Daniel K. Podolsky, M.D. President, UT Southwestern Medical Center

2022 Leaders in Clinical Excellence Award Recipients

Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine

This award, UT Southwestern's highest honor in clinical care, recognizes a UT Southwestern clinician who exemplifies excellence in patient care and is a leader in advancing clinical innovation. It honors a faculty member who has had a profound impact on patients, students, trainees, and colleagues through the quality of his or her clinical work.

Robert Collins, M.D., FACP, Department of Internal Medicine

Rising Star Award

This award recognizes exceptional early-career clinical faculty whose actions and activities consistently exemplify commitment, professionalism, and leadership.

James Cutrell, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine Linda Dultz, M.D., M.P.H., Department of Surgery

Institutional Service Award

This award honors clinical faculty who consistently share time and expertise in service to internal committees, task forces, and other institutional activities that make a significant impact on the care delivered to UT Southwestern patients.

Mary Pearson, M.D., Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Mentoring Award

This award celebrates clinicians who demonstrate exceptional commitment and effectiveness as a mentor to health care providers.

David Gerber, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine **Myra Wyckoff, M.D.**, Department of Pediatrics

Patient and Family Recognition Award

This award honors clinical faculty whose dedication to the compassionate, respectful delivery of exceptional patient care has garnered the highest degree of patient trust and satisfaction.

Erin Gordon, D.O., Department of Pediatrics

Program Development Award

This award celebrates the innovation and collaboration that are foundational to the success of UT Southwestern Medical Center. It recognizes a group of clinical faculty and staff who have worked together as a team to create, develop, and sustain an innovative program that significantly advances our ability to improve the care received by our patients.

Multidisciplinary Liver Tumor Program, led by Amit Singal, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine Adam Yopp, M.D., Department of Surgery

Obstetric Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement (QAPI) program, led by Shivani Patel, M.D., Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

President's Award for Diversity and Humanism in Clinical Care

This award honors clinical faculty who exemplify the humanistic spirit of patient-centered medicine, both through clinical excellence and in outstanding compassion in the delivery of care.

Mehari Gebreyohanns, M.D., Department of Neurology