UT Southwestern Medical Center

Dr. Jeffrey Cadeddu named 2018 Watson Award winner

May 22, 2018

To the UT Southwestern Community:

I am very pleased to announce that Dr. Jeffrey Cadeddu, Professor of Urology, who holds the Ralph C. Smith, M.D. Distinguished Chair in Minimally Invasive Urologic Surgery, has been selected to receive the 2018 Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine.

The Watson Award was established in 2009 through a generous gift from Dr. and Mrs. Watson to create an annual opportunity to recognize a UT Southwestern faculty physician who exemplifies excellence in patient care and is a leader in advancing clinical innovations.

Dr. Cadeddu has been characterized as a "physician's physician" – as a gifted and innovative surgeon lauded by his patients; an outstanding teacher of medical students, residents, and fellows; and a superb colleague in his interactions with faculty and referring physicians.

Dr. Cadeddu received a B.S. in both biomedical engineering and materials science and engineering in 1989 from the G.W.C. Whiting School of Engineering at the Johns Hopkins University. He remained at Johns Hopkins for the next 10 years, receiving his medical degree there in 1993, followed by a residency in the Department of General Surgery from 1993-1995, and then fellowship training in urology at The James Buchanan Brady Urological Institute from 1995-1998. On completing his training, he served as an Instructor and Assistant Chief of Service in the Brady Urological Institute.

Dr. Cadeddu joined the UT Southwestern faculty as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Urology in 1999 and was promoted to Associate Professor in 2004 and to Professor in 2008. He has also served as a faculty member on the Joint Graduate Studies Committee in Biomedical Engineering since 2000; as Director of UT Southwestern's Center for Minimally Invasive Surgery for 2002-2005; and as an Associate Member of the Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center since 2003. In addition, he has held a joint appointment in the Department of Radiology since 2006.

Dr. Cadeddu has contributed to significant advances in the treatment of kidney cancer through the development of innovative minimally invasive surgical techniques and technologies. He has systematically investigated a variety of energies for use in ablating or resecting kidney tumors and was a leader in adopting radiofrequency ablation for kidney cancer. As testimony to his creativity and commitment to innovation, he currently holds the title to 11 U.S. patents, and his contributions to research and clinical care have been recognized with multiple honors and awards throughout his career.

As a clinician, he is known as a brilliant diagnostician and was described by a colleague as a "magnificent surgeon, accomplishing surgical feats that few in the world would attempt, let alone succeed." His colleagues also know him as a physician who is never too busy to see a patient and who is unfailingly compassionate and effective in his communications with patients and their families.

In addition, he is widely known and highly regarded for his professional interactions with referring physicians and for his commitment to the education and training of medical students, residents, and fellows. As a mentor, he involves residents and fellows in all aspects of his scientific, technological, and clinical endeavors, and he is generous about sharing credit with them in ways that promote their careers.

The Watson Award recipient is chosen by a selection committee from nominations submitted by UT Southwestern faculty and staff. I want to thank Dr. Willis Maddrey for once again chairing the Watson Award Committee, the faculty who served as committee members, and all who submitted nominations.

The Watson Award will be presented to Dr. Cadeddu this fall, in conjunction with the Watson Lecture, which is given by a national health care leader. The date of this event and the name of the 2018 Watson Lecturer will be announced in the coming months. In the meantime, please join me in congratulating Dr. Cadeddu for his selection as the 2018 Watson Award recipient.

Daniel K. Podolsky, M.D. President, UT Southwestern Medical Center