UT Southwestern Medical Center

July 21, 2021

To the UT Southwestern community:

We are writing to announce that nominations are now being accepted for the 2021 Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards.

These awards were established in 2018 to honor the exceptional contributions of clinical faculty (at any site of service) to the care of our patients, to the education and training of the next generation of health care professionals, and to UT Southwestern overall.

We are inviting and encouraging all members of the UT Southwestern community to nominate deserving UTSW clinical faculty for any of the seven awards. Included in the slate of categories is the Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine – the institution's highest honor in clinical care.

Please take a moment to review the award categories listed below and to familiarize yourselves with the nominee eligibility requirements. We hope you will share your insights into clinical faculty whose contributions merit special recognition.

Nominations will be accepted through Wednesday, September 8, and can be <u>submitted easily and</u> <u>securely online</u>. A faculty awards committee, co-chaired once again by Drs. John Mansour and Maeve Sheehan, will review all nominations.

As many of you will recall, last year's ceremony was held virtually out of added precaution amid the COVID-19 pandemic and at a time when vaccinations were not yet available. We are pleased to share that our intent is to host the 2021 awards ceremony in person on December 1 in Gooch Auditorium – circumstances permitting.

We look forward to celebrating all of our Leaders in Clinical Excellence honorees and to gathering together with you, in person, to mark what will be two years of exceptional work during extraordinary times.

Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine Established in 2009 through a gift from Dr. William L. Watson Jr. – a UT Southwestern alumnus – and his wife, Patricia, the Watson Award provides the opportunity to recognize a UT Southwestern faculty physician who exemplifies excellence in patient care, is a leader in advancing clinical innovations, and has had a profound impact on students, trainees, colleagues, and patients.

Rising Star Award

This award recognizes exceptional early-career clinical faculty whose actions and activities consistently exemplify enthusiasm, commitment, professionalism, and leadership.

Institutional Service Award

This award honors clinical faculty who consistently share time and expertise in service to internal committees, task forces, and other institutional activities that make a significant impact on the care delivered to UT Southwestern patients.

Mentoring Award

This award celebrates clinicians who demonstrate exceptional commitment and effectiveness as a mentor to health care providers.

Patient and Family Recognition Award

This award honors clinical faculty whose dedication to the compassionate, respectful delivery of exceptional patient care has garnered the highest degree of patient trust and satisfaction.

Program Development Award

This award celebrates the innovation and collaboration that are foundational to the success of UT Southwestern Medical Center. It recognizes a group of clinical faculty and staff who have partnered to create, develop, and sustain an innovative program that significantly advances our ability to improve patient care.

The President's Award for Diversity and Humanism in Clinical Care

This award honors clinical faculty who exemplify the humanistic spirit of patient-centered medicine, both through clinical excellence and in outstanding compassion in the delivery of care.

More information about the awards, eligibility requirements, and the nomination process can be found on the <u>Clinical Faculty Awards website</u>.

Daniel K. Podolsky, M.D. President, UT Southwestern Medical Center

W. P. Andrew Lee, M.D. Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Dean, UT Southwestern Medical School

John J. Warner, M.D. Executive Vice President for Health System Affairs