The UT Southwestern School of Health Professions is structured into five major departments, which together offer degrees and certificates in eight areas.

Department of Physical Therapy

Dr. Beth Deschenes
Beth Deschenes, P.T., D.P.T., O.C.S., Interim Chair, Department of Physical Therapy

The interim chair for the Department of Physical Therapy is Beth Deschenes, P.T., D.P.T., O.C.S.

The faculty in the Department of Physical Therapy is a powerful blend of highly regarded educators, researchers, and clinicians. Their wide-ranging clinical interests give students access to unique learning.

Department of Clinical Nutrition

Dr. Lona Sandon
Lona Sandon, Ph.D., R.D.
Program Director
Clinical Nutrition–Coordinated Program

The Department of Clinical Nutrition is led by Lona Sandon, Ph.D., R.D., who serves as the director of the Clinical Nutrition – Coordinated Program and the Clinical Nutrition – Health Professionals Track.

The faculty members in the Department of Clinical Nutrition are dedicated to bringing students a superb educational experience. Students learn with nationally recognized professionals who are directly involved in patient care in UT Southwestern hospitals and clinics and active in collaborative research through the Center for Human Nutrition and other campus departments.

Department of Physician Assistant Studies

Dr. Eugene Jones
P. Eugene Jones, Ph.D., PA-C
Chair and Program Director
Department of Physician Assistant Studies

The Department of Physician Assistant Studies is chaired by P. Eugene Jones, Ph.D., PA-C.

The Department is led by an expert faculty recognized for excellence in academics, research, and clinical care. Faculty members have received prestigious teaching awards, hold important leadership positions in the physician assistant profession, and have published research in nearly a dozen leading journals.

Department of Rehabilitation Counseling

The Department of Rehabilitation Counseling is led by Interim Program Director Robert Drake, M.S., CRC, LPC-S, who also serves as Program Co-Director with Cheryl H. Silver, Ph.D.

The dedicated faculty members in the Department of Rehabilitation Counseling engage in a broad spectrum of educational, scholarly, and service activities to enhance the education and life experience of students.

Department of Health Care Sciences

Dr. Scott Smith
Scott Smith, Ph.D.
Acting Chair and Assistant Dean of Research

The Department of Health Care Sciences is led by acting Chair Scott A. Smith, Ph.D., who also serves as Assistant Dean of Research of the School of Health Professions. 

The Department provides an academic infrastructure for several autonomous programs, oversees online learning initiatives, and offers multidisciplinary courses for the School of Health Professions:

Prosthetics-Orthotics: Leslie Gray, M.Ed., CPO, LPO, Interim Program Director

Radiation Therapy: Kameka Rideaux, M.B.A., RT(R)(T), Program Director

Division of Community Prevention and Intervention Unit (CPIU)

Division of Area Health Education Center (AHEC): Lori N. Millner, Ph.D., Executive Director of the DFW Area Health Education Center