Radiation Oncology Faculty 

Leadership

Hak Choy Hak Choy, M.D.
Chairman
Nancy B. & Jake L. Hamon Distinguished Chair in Therapeutic Oncology Research
hak.choy@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8525
Research Interest: Lung cancer; bench-to-clinic therapies for concurrent chemoradiation
Steve Jiang Steve Jiang, Ph.D.
Professor and Division Director
Barbara Crittenden Professorship in Cancer Research
steve.jiang@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8510
Research Interest: GPU and cloud-based automatic treatment planning; adaptive radiotherapy
Robert Timmerman Robert Timmerman, M.D.
Professor, Vice Chair & Medical Director
Effie Marie Cain Distinguished Chair in Cancer Therapy Research
robert.timmerman@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8525
Research Interest: Hypofractionated radiation therapy; stereotactic body radiation therapy
Michael Story Michael Story, Ph.D.
Professor & Division Chairman
David A. Pistenmaa, M.D., Ph.D. Distinguished Chair in Radiation Oncology
michael.story@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5557
Research Interest: Particle therapy; space radiation; biomarkers of therapeutic response; combined modality therapy

Back to TopDivision of Clinical Radiation Oncology

Hak Choy Hak Choy, M.D.
Chairman
Nancy B. & Jake L. Hamon Distinguished Chair in Therapeutic Oncology Research
hak.choy@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8525
Research Interest: Lung cancer; bench-to-clinic therapies for concurrent chemoradiation
David  Sher David Sher, M.D., MPH
Physician
david.sher@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8525
Research Interest: Head and neck cancer, outcomes and health services research, cost and comparative effectiveness research
Ramzi Abdulrahman Ramzi Abdulrahman, M.D.
Associate Professor
ramzi.abdulrahman@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8525
Research Interest: Pediatric cancer, brain and spinal cancer
Lucien Nedzi Lucien Nedzi, M.D.
Associate Professor
lucien.nedzi@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8525
Research Interest: Head and neck cancer; stereotactic radiosurgery
Jeffrey Meyer Jeffrey Meyer, M.D., M.S.
Assistant Professor & Residency Program Director
jeffrey.meyer@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8525
Research Interest: Gastrointestinal cancer
Neil  Desai Neil Desai, M.D.
Assistant Professor
neil.desai@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8525
Research Interest: Prostate cancer, stereotactic body radiation therapy, brachytherapy, bladder cancer and bladder preservation with combined modality therapy
Aaron Laine Aaron Laine, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
aaron.laine@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8525
Research Interest: Genitourinary cancer, cancer cachexia
David Schwartz David Schwartz, M.D.
Assistant Professor
david.schwartz@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8525
Research Interest: Head and neck cancer, SBRT, adaptive radiotherapy, tumor imaging, health informatics
Robert Timmerman Robert Timmerman, M.D.
Professor, Vice Chair & Medical Director
Effie Marie Cain Distinguished Chair in Cancer Therapy Research
robert.timmerman@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8525
Research Interest: Hypofractionated radiation therapy; stereotactic body radiation therapy
Michael Folkert Michael Folkert, M.D., Ph.D.
Dr.
michaelr.folkert@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8525
Research Interest: Brachytherapy applications and device development, management of sarcoma, image analysis for cancer outcomes prediction
Kevin Albuquerque Kevin Albuquerque, M.D.
Associate Professor
kevin.albuquerque@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8525
Research Interest: Gynecologic cancers, patient quality of life
Ann Spangler Ann Spangler, M.D., MACM
Associate Professor
ann.spangler@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8525
Research Interest: Breast cancer, accelerated partial-breast irradiation (APBI), Cyberknife, IMRT
Puneeth Iyengar Puneeth Iyengar, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor & Director of Clinical Research
puneeth.iyengar@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8525
Research Interest: Lung cancer, cancer cachexia, radiation resistance, tumor metabolism and stromal interactions, immune cachexia regulation
Raquibul Hannan Raquibul Hannan, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
raquibul.hannan@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8525
Research Interest: Genitourinary cancer; combined immunotherapy and radiation therapy
Asal Rahimi Asal Rahimi, M.D.
Assistant Professor
asal.rahimi@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8525
Research Interest: Breast cancer, breast SBRT, partial breast radiation, cardiac sparing in breast cancer patients
Ken Westover Ken Westover, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
kenneth.westover@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8525
Research Interest: Structure-guided drug design for oncology, covalent inhibitors, hypofractionated radiation, lung cancer, metastases

Back to TopDivision of Medical Physics and Engineering

Steve Jiang Steve Jiang, Ph.D.
Professor and Division Director
Barbara Crittenden Professorship in Cancer Research
steve.jiang@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8510
Research Interest: GPU and cloud-based automatic treatment planning; adaptive radiotherapy
Weiguo Lu Weiguo Lu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
weiguo.lu@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-9517
Research Interest: Next-generation treatment planning, high performance (GPU) computing, adaptive radiotherapy
Jing Wang Jing Wang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professpr
jing.wang@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-1795
Research Interest: Cone-beam computed tomography; image-guided radiation therapy; medical image analysis; tomographic image reconstruction
Chuxiong Ding Chuxiong Ding, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
chuxiong.ding@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5059
Research Interest: Image-guided radiotherapy; stereotactic radiation therapy
Brian Hrycushko Brian Hrycushko, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
brian.hrycushko@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7773
Research Interest: Normal tissue tolerance; stereotactic radiotherapy; radionuclide therapy; brachytherapy
Weihua Mao Weihua Mao, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
weihua.mao@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-1813
Research Interest: Real-time tumor tracking; adaptive radiotherapy; radiation therapy combined with thermotherapy
Amit Sawant Amit Sawant, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
amit.sawant@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-1796
Research Interest: MRI-guided motion management; 4D motion modeling; real-time MLC tracking
Ming Yang Ming Yang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
ming.yang@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5057
Research Interest: Proton dose calculation and optimization; dual energy computed tomography
Anh Le Anh Le, Ph.D.
Instructor
anh.le@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5467
Research Interest: Medical imaging and informatics; health IT, clinical workflow integration and translational research in radiotherapy
Zhen Tian Zhen Tian, Ph.D.
Instructor
zhen.tian@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5419
Research Interest: Dose calculation; online adaptive radiotherapy
Yulong Yan Yulong Yan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Computational Physics Director
yulong.yan@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7636
Research Interest: Novel treatment planning technologies; clinic-oriented applications; DICOM; SRS
Paul Medin Paul Medin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
paul.medin@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8591
Research Interest: Stereotactic delivery technology and research; tissue tolerance in high-dose, single-fraction delivery
Ryan Foster Ryan Foster, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor and Clinical Director
ryan.foster@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8587
Research Interest: Normal tissue response; patient localization and immobilization technologies; stereotactic body radiotherapy
Xuejun Gu Xuejun Gu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
xuejun.gu@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-6543
Research Interest: Online adaptive radiotherapy; image registration; small animal imaging
Xun Jia Xun Jia, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
xun.jia@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5032
Research Interest: 3-D/4-D computed tomography reconstruction; Monte Carlo dose calculations
Arnold Pompos Arnold Pompos, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
arnold.pompos@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7663
Research Interest: Heavy particle interactions; microdosimetry; Monte Carlo simulations
Strahinja Stojadinovic Strahinja Stojadinovic, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
strahinja.stojadinovic@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7677
Research Interest: Preclinical delivery technologies and research; stereotactic radiotherapy; IMRT QA; brachytherapy
Bo Zhao Bo Zhao, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
bo.zhao@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7774
Research Interest: Image-guided radiation therapy; stereotactic body radiation therapy
Jun Tan Jun Tan, Ph.D.
Instructor
jun.tan@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5058
Research Interest: Patient safety in radiotherapy, image reconstruction, segmentation, registration, pattern classification, data mining
Hao Yan Hao Yan, Ph.D.
Instructor
hao.yan@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-6452
Research Interest: Image guidance and tumor tracking; medical imaging

Back to TopDivision of Molecular Radiation Biology

Michael Story Michael Story, Ph.D.
Professor & Division Chairman
David A. Pistenmaa, M.D., Ph.D. Distinguished Chair in Radiation Oncology
michael.story@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5557
Research Interest: Particle therapy; space radiation; biomarkers of therapeutic response; combined modality therapy
Sandeep Burma Sandeep Burma, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
sandeep.burma@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-7440
Research Interest: DNA double-strand break signaling and repair; glioblastoma radioresistance; particle radiation and gliomagenesis
Anthony (Tony) Davis Anthony (Tony) Davis, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
anthony.davis@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-1426
Research Interest: DNA double-strand break sensing, signaling and repair
Bipasha Mukherjee Bipasha Mukherjee, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
bipasha.mukherjee@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-4166
Research Interest: DNA damage and repair; heavy particle radiobiology; radioresistance of glioblastoma
Lianghao Ding Lianghao Ding, Ph.D.
Instructor
lianghao.ding@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5892
Research Interest: DNA damage response induced by heavy particles; functional genomics of radiation toxicity; role of microRNA in head and neck cancer
Seong-Mi Park Seong-Mi Park, Ph.D.
Instructor
seong.park@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-1412
Research Interest: Space radiation-induced cellular transformation; molecular mechanism of lung tumorigenesis
David Chen David Chen, Ph.D.
Professor
david.chen@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5597
Research Interest: Role of DNA-PK in double-strand break repair; DSB repair pathway choice; DNA damage response induced by HZE particles
Asaithamby Aroumougame Asaithamby Aroumougame, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
asaithamby.aroumougame@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-1249
Research Interest: DNA damage response signaling in development and tumor suppression
Kyung-Jong (KJ) Lee Kyung-Jong (KJ) Lee, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
kyung-jong.lee@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-1426
Research Interest: Role of DNA-PK in DNA DSB repair pathway choice; screening of small molecular compounds to radiosensitize tumor cells.
Debabrata Saha Debabrata Saha, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
debabrata.saha@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-7750
Research Interest: Tumor modeling for SBRT; role of DAB2IP in prostate cancer; small molecule inhibitors as radiosensitizers
Yu-Fen Lin Yu-Fen Lin, Ph.D.
Instructor
yu-fen.lin@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-4917
Research Interest: DNA-PKcs in ATR-signaling pathway; role of T2609 phosphorylation cluster on the S-phase checkpoint response
Tsuguhide (Hide) Takeshima Tsuguhide (Hide) Takeshima, Ph.D.
Instructor
tsuguhide.takeshima@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-1132
Research Interest: Tumor microenvironment after irradiation; synergy between cancer immunotherapy and radiotherapy

Back to TopSenior Administration

Claire Almanza Claire Almanza
Dir. Rad Oncology Srvs.
claire.almanza@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8558
Aileen Hayashida Aileen Hayashida
Financial Affairs Manager
aileen.hayashida@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-3054
Sandy Durr Sandy Durr
Admin. Manager
sandra.durr@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7621