Radiation Oncology Faculty 

Leadership

Hak Choy Hak Choy, M.D. theresa.west@utsouthwestern.edu
Chairman, Nancy B. & Jake L. Hamon Distinguished Chair in Therapeutic Oncology Research
Phone: 214-645-8528
Research Interest: Lung cancer; bench-to-clinic therapies for concurrent chemoradiation
Steve Jiang Steve Jiang, Ph.D. steve.jiang@utsouthwestern.edu
Professor, Vice Chair and Medical Physics Director, Barbara Crittenden Professorship in Cancer Research
Phone: 214-645-8510
Research Interest: GPU and cloud-based automatic treatment planning; adaptive radiotherapy
Robert Timmerman Robert Timmerman, M.D. beckey.berry@utsouthwestern.edu
Professor, Vice Chair & Medical Director, Effie Marie Cain Distinguished Chair in Cancer Therapy Research
Phone: 214-645-8528
Research Interest: Hypofractionated radiation therapy; stereotactic body radiation therapy
Michael Story Michael Story, Ph.D. michael.story@utsouthwestern.edu
Professor, Vice Chair and Radiobiology Director, David A. Pistenmaa, M.D., Ph.D. Distinguished Chair in Radiation Oncology
Phone: 214-648-5557
Research Interest: Particle therapy; space radiation; biomarkers of therapeutic response; combined modality therapy

Back to TopDivision of Clinical Radiation Oncology

Hak Choy Hak Choy, M.D. theresa.west@utsouthwestern.edu
Chairman, Nancy B. & Jake L. Hamon Distinguished Chair in Therapeutic Oncology Research
Phone: 214-645-8528
Research Interest: Lung cancer; bench-to-clinic therapies for concurrent chemoradiation
Jeffrey Meyer Jeffrey Meyer, M.D., M.S. susan.brown@utsouthwestern.edu
Associate Professor & Residency Program Director
Phone: 214-645-8528
Research Interest: Gastrointestinal cancer
Lucien Nedzi Lucien Nedzi, M.D. bradley.hicks@utsouthwestern.edu
Associate Professor
Phone: 214-645-8528
Research Interest: Central nervous system cancer; stereotactic radiosurgery
Ann Spangler Ann Spangler, M.D., MACM kymm.morris@utsouthwestern.edu
Associate Professor
Phone: 214-645-8528
Research Interest: Breast cancer, accelerated partial-breast irradiation (APBI), Cyberknife, IMRT
Neil  Desai Neil Desai, M.D. rosemary.acevedo@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-645-8528
Research Interest: Prostate and bladder cancer, stereotactic body radiation therapy, brachytherapy, bladder preservation
Raquibul Hannan Raquibul Hannan, M.D., Ph.D. rosemary.acevedo@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-645-8528
Research Interest: Genitourinary cancer; combined immunotherapy and radiation therapy
Nathan Kim Nathan Kim, M.D., Ph.D. kymm.morris@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-645-8528
Zabi Wardak Zabi Wardak, M.D. bradley.hicks@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-645-8528
Research Interest: Stereotactic radiosurgery, central nervous system cancer
Robert Timmerman Robert Timmerman, M.D. beckey.berry@utsouthwestern.edu
Professor, Vice Chair & Medical Director, Effie Marie Cain Distinguished Chair in Cancer Therapy Research
Phone: 214-645-8528
Research Interest: Hypofractionated radiation therapy; stereotactic body radiation therapy
Kevin Albuquerque Kevin Albuquerque, M.D. bradley.hicks@utsouthwestern.edu
Associate Professor
Phone: 214-645-8528
Research Interest: Gynecologic cancers, patient quality of life
David  Sher David Sher, M.D., MPH rosemary.acevedo@utsouthwestern.edu
Associate Professor
Phone: 214-645-8528
Research Interest: Head and neck cancer, outcomes and health services research, cost and comparative effectiveness research
Asal Rahimi Asal Rahimi, M.D. kymm.morris@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor & Director of Clinical Research
Phone: 214-645-8528
Research Interest: Breast cancer, breast SBRT, partial breast radiation, cardiac sparing in breast cancer patients
Michael Folkert Michael Folkert, M.D., Ph.D. kymm.morris@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-645-8528
Research Interest: Brachytherapy applications and device development, sarcoma management, image analysis for outcomes prediction
Puneeth Iyengar Puneeth Iyengar, M.D., Ph.D. bradley.hicks@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-645-8528
Research Interest: Lung cancer,cachexia, radiation resistance, tumor metabolism, stromal interactions, immune cachexia regulation
Aaron Laine Aaron Laine, M.D., Ph.D. rosemary.acevedo@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-645-8528
Research Interest: Genitourinary cancer, cancer cachexia
Ken Westover Ken Westover, M.D., Ph.D. kymm.morris@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-645-8528
Research Interest: Structure-guided drug design for oncology, covalent inhibitors, hypofractionated radiation, lung cancer, mets

Back to TopDivision of Medical Physics and Engineering

Steve Jiang Steve Jiang, Ph.D. steve.jiang@utsouthwestern.edu
Professor, Vice Chair and Medical Physics Director, Barbara Crittenden Professorship in Cancer Research
Phone: 214-645-8510
Research Interest: GPU and cloud-based automatic treatment planning; adaptive radiotherapy
Yulong Yan Yulong Yan, Ph.D. yulong.yan@utsouthwestern.edu
Associate Professor and Computational Physics Director
Phone: 214-645-7636
Research Interest: Novel treatment planning technologies; clinic-oriented applications; DICOM; SRS
Paul Medin Paul Medin, Ph.D. paul.medin@utsouthwestern.edu
Associate Professor and Medical Physics Residency Program Director
Phone: 214-645-8591
Research Interest: Stereotactic delivery technology and research; tissue tolerance in high-dose, single-fraction delivery
Chuxiong Ding Chuxiong Ding, Ph.D. chuxiong.ding@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-648-5059
Research Interest: Image-guided radiotherapy; stereotactic radiation therapy
Brian Hrycushko Brian Hrycushko, Ph.D. brian.hrycushko@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-645-7773
Research Interest: Normal tissue tolerance; stereotactic radiotherapy; radionuclide therapy; brachytherapy
Mu-Han Lin Mu-Han Lin, Ph.D. mu-han.lin@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-645-8587
Research Interest: Clinical implementation of novel treatment technologies; stereotactic radiotherapy; Monte Carlo simulation
Jing Wang Jing Wang, Ph.D. jing.wang@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-648-1795
Research Interest: Cone-beam computed tomography; image-guided radiation therapy;image analysis; tomographic image reconstruction
Bo Zhao Bo Zhao, Ph.D. bo.zhao@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-645-7774
Research Interest: Image-guided radiation therapy; stereotactic body radiation therapy
Da Luo Da Luo, Ph.D. da.luo@utsouthwestern.edu
Instructor
Phone: 214-648-6447
Research Interest: Clinical Process Automation, RTLS, Treatment Planning
Zhen Tian Zhen Tian, Ph.D. zhen.tian@utsouthwestern.edu
Instructor
Phone: 214-648-5419
Research Interest: Dose calculation; online adaptive radiotherapy
Yiping  Shao Yiping Shao, Ph.D. yiping.shao@utsouthwestern.edu
Professor
Phone: 214-645-1274
Research Interest: Nuclear imaging technology and application for molecular imaging and radiotherapy
Arnold Pompos Arnold Pompos, Ph.D. arnold.pompos@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor and Interim Clinical Director
Phone: 214-645-7663
Research Interest: Heavy particle interactions; microdosimetry; Monte Carlo simulations
Weiguo Lu Weiguo Lu, Ph.D. weiguo.lu@utsouthwestern.edu
Associate Professor
Phone: 214-648-9517
Research Interest: Next-generation treatment planning, high performance (GPU) computing, adaptive radiotherapy
Xuejun Gu Xuejun Gu, Ph.D. xuejun.gu@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-648-6543
Research Interest: Online adaptive radiotherapy; image registration; small animal imaging
Xun Jia Xun Jia, Ph.D. xun.jia@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-648-5032
Research Interest: 3-D/4-D computed tomography reconstruction; Monte Carlo dose calculations
Strahinja Stojadinovic Strahinja Stojadinovic, Ph.D. strahinja.stojadinovic@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-645-7677
Research Interest: Preclinical delivery technologies; stereotactic radiotherapy; IMRT QA; brachytherapy
Ming Yang Ming Yang, Ph.D. ming.yang@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-648-5057
Research Interest: Proton dose calculation and optimization; dual energy computed tomography
Fritz Hager Fritz Hager, MS frederick.hager@utsouthwestern.edu
Faculty Associate
Phone: 214-645-7613
Research Interest: Machine and clinical quality assurance
Jun Tan Jun Tan, Ph.D. jun.tan@utsouthwestern.edu
Instructor
Phone: 214-648-5058
Research Interest: Clinical workflow efficiency, plan QA, patient safety, medical imaging, data mining
Yuncheng Zhong Yuncheng Zhong, Ph.D. yuncheng.zhong@utsouthwestern.edu
Instructor
Phone: 214-645-1336
Research Interest: Computer simulation and system integration of cone-beam CT and PET; image reconstruction

Back to TopDivision of Molecular Radiation Biology

Michael Story Michael Story, Ph.D. michael.story@utsouthwestern.edu
Professor, Vice Chair and Radiobiology Director, David A. Pistenmaa, M.D., Ph.D. Distinguished Chair in Radiation Oncology
Phone: 214-648-5557
Research Interest: Particle therapy; space radiation; biomarkers of therapeutic response; combined modality therapy
Sandeep Burma Sandeep Burma, Ph.D. sandeep.burma@utsouthwestern.edu
Associate Professor
Phone: 214-648-7440
Research Interest: DNA double-strand break signaling and repair; glioblastoma radioresistance; particle radiation and gliomagenesis
Debabrata Saha Debabrata Saha, Ph.D. debabrata.saha@utsouthwestern.edu
Associate Professor
Phone: 214-648-7750
Research Interest: Tumor modeling for SBRT; role of DAB2IP in prostate cancer; small molecule inhibitors as radiosensitizers
Anthony (Tony) Davis Anthony (Tony) Davis, Ph.D. anthony.davis@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-648-4917
Research Interest: DNA double-strand break sensing, signaling and repair
Kyung-Jong (KJ) Lee Kyung-Jong (KJ) Lee, Ph.D. kyung-jong.lee@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-648-4917
Research Interest: Role of DNA-PK in DNA DSB repair pathway choice; screening of small molecular compounds to radiosensitize tumor cells.
Yu-Fen (Renee) Lin Yu-Fen (Renee) Lin, Ph.D. yu-fen.lin@utsouthwestern.edu
Instructor
Phone: 214-648-1602
Research Interest: DNA-PKcs in ATR-signaling pathway; role of T2609 phosphorylation cluster on the S-phase checkpoint response
Seong-Mi Park Seong-Mi Park, Ph.D. seong.park@utsouthwestern.edu
Instructor
Phone: 214-648-1412
Research Interest: Space radiation-induced cellular transformation; molecular mechanism of lung tumorigenesis
Tsuguhide (Hide) Takeshima Tsuguhide (Hide) Takeshima, Ph.D. tsuguhide.takeshima@utsouthwestern.edu
Instructor
Phone: 214-648-1132
Research Interest: Tumor microenvironment after irradiation; synergy between cancer immunotherapy and radiotherapy
David Chen David Chen, Ph.D. david.chen@utsouthwestern.edu
Professor
Phone: 214-648-5597
Research Interest: Role of DNA-PK in double-strand break repair; DSB repair pathway choice; DNA damage response induced by HZE particles
Benjamin Chen Benjamin Chen, Ph.D. benjamin.chen@utsouthwestern.edu
Associate Professor
Phone: 214-648-1263
Research Interest: DNA break repair; role of DNA-PKcs; DNA damage responses in stem sell; heavy particle exposure impact on neural stem cells
Asaithamby Aroumougame Asaithamby Aroumougame, Ph.D. asaithamby.aroumougame@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-648-1249
Research Interest: DNA damage response signaling in development and tumor suppression
Lianghao Ding Lianghao Ding, Ph.D. lianghao.ding@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-648-5892
Research Interest: DNA damage response induced by heavy particles; functional genomics of radiation toxicity; role of microRNA in head and neck cancer
Bipasha Mukherjee Bipasha Mukherjee, Ph.D. bipasha.mukherjee@utsouthwestern.edu
Assistant Professor
Phone: 214-648-4166
Research Interest: DNA damage and repair; heavy particle radiobiology; radioresistance of glioblastoma
Sriram Narayanan Sriram Narayanan, Ph.D. sriram.narayanan@utsouthwestern.edu
Instructor
Phone: 214-648-1143
Research Interest: Cancer cachexia, tumor metabolism in cachexia
Janapriya (JP) Saha Janapriya (JP) Saha, Ph.D. janapriya.saha@utsouthwestern.edu
Instructor
Phone: 214-648-4917
Research Interest: DNA double strand break signaling and repair; space radiation/HZE particle radiation-induced DNA damage and response
Lan Yu Lan Yu, Ph.D. lan.yu@utsouthwestern.edu
Instructor
Phone: 214-648-7747

Back to TopSenior Administration

Claire Almanza Claire Almanza claire.almanza@utsouthwestern.edu
Dir. Rad Oncology Srvs.
Phone: 214-645-8558
Aileen Hayashida Aileen Hayashida aileen.hayashida@utsouthwestern.edu
Financial Affairs Manager
Phone: 214-645-3054
Sandy Durr Sandy Durr sandra.durr@utsouthwestern.edu
Administrative/Academic Manager
Phone: 214-645-7621