Radiation Oncology Faculty 

Leadership

Hak Choy Hak Choy, M.D.
Chairman
Nancy B. & Jake L. Hamon Distinguished Chair in Therapeutic Oncology Research
hak.choy@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7620
Research Interest: Lung cancer; bench-to-clinic therapies for concurrent chemoradiation
Steve Jiang Steve Jiang, Ph.D.
Professor, Vice Chair & Physics Director
Barbara Crittenden Professorship in Cancer Research
steve.jiang@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8510
Research Interest: GPU and cloud-based automatic treatment planning; adaptive radiotherapy
Robert Timmerman Robert Timmerman, M.D.
Professor, Vice Chair & Medical Director
Effie Marie Cain Distinguished Chair in Cancer Therapy Research
robert.timmerman@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7637
Research Interest: Hypofractionated radiation therapy; stereotactic body radiation therapy
Michael Story Michael Story, Ph.D.
Professor, Vice Chair & Biology Director
David A. Pistenmaa, M.D., Ph.D. Distinguished Chair in Radiation Oncology
michael.story@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5557
Research Interest: Particle therapy; space radiation; biomarkers of therapeutic response; combined modality therapy

Back to TopDivision of Clinical Radiation Oncology

Hak Choy Hak Choy, M.D.
Chairman
Nancy B. & Jake L. Hamon Distinguished Chair in Therapeutic Oncology Research
hak.choy@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7620
Research Interest: Lung cancer; bench-to-clinic therapies for concurrent chemoradiation
Ramzi Abdulrahman Ramzi Abdulrahman, M.D.
Associate Professor
ramzi.abdulrahman@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7606
Research Interest: Pediatric cancer, brain and spinal cancer
Lucien Nedzi Lucien Nedzi, M.D.
Associate Professor
lucien.nedzi@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7653
Research Interest: Head and neck cancer; stereotactic radiosurgery
David  Sher David Sher, M.D., MPH
Associate Professor
david.sher@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7607
Research Interest: Head and neck cancer, outcomes and health services research, cost and comparative effectiveness research
Jeffrey Meyer Jeffrey Meyer, M.D., M.S.
Assistant Professor & Residency Program Director
jeffrey.meyer@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7604
Research Interest: Gastrointestinal cancer
Michael Folkert Michael Folkert, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
michaelr.folkert@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-2112
Research Interest: Brachytherapy applications and device development, management of sarcoma, image analysis for cancer outcomes prediction
Aaron Laine Aaron Laine, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
aaron.laine@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7682
Research Interest: Genitourinary cancer, cancer cachexia
Ken Westover Ken Westover, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
kenneth.westover@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-0323
Research Interest: Structure-guided drug design for oncology, covalent inhibitors, hypofractionated radiation, lung cancer, metastases
Robert Timmerman Robert Timmerman, M.D.
Professor, Vice Chair & Medical Director
Effie Marie Cain Distinguished Chair in Cancer Therapy Research
robert.timmerman@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7637
Research Interest: Hypofractionated radiation therapy; stereotactic body radiation therapy
Kevin Albuquerque Kevin Albuquerque, M.D.
Associate Professor
kevin.albuquerque@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7296
Research Interest: Gynecologic cancers, patient quality of life
David Schwartz David Schwartz, M.D.
Associate Professor
david.schwartz@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7667
Research Interest: Head and neck cancer, SBRT, adaptive radiotherapy, tumor imaging, health informatics
Ann Spangler Ann Spangler, M.D., MACM
Associate Professor
ann.spangler@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7625
Research Interest: Breast cancer, accelerated partial-breast irradiation (APBI), Cyberknife, IMRT
Puneeth Iyengar Puneeth Iyengar, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor & Director of Clinical Research
puneeth.iyengar@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7603
Research Interest: Lung cancer, cancer cachexia, radiation resistance, tumor metabolism and stromal interactions, immune cachexia regulation
Raquibul Hannan Raquibul Hannan, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
raquibul.hannan@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7696
Research Interest: Genitourinary cancer; combined immunotherapy and radiation therapy
Asal Rahimi Asal Rahimi, M.D.
Assistant Professor
asal.rahimi@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8556
Research Interest: Breast cancer, breast SBRT, partial breast radiation, cardiac sparing in breast cancer patients

Back to TopDivision of Medical Physics and Engineering

Steve Jiang Steve Jiang, Ph.D.
Professor, Vice Chair & Physics Director
Barbara Crittenden Professorship in Cancer Research
steve.jiang@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8510
Research Interest: GPU and cloud-based automatic treatment planning; adaptive radiotherapy
Paul Medin Paul Medin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Residency Program Director
paul.medin@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8591
Research Interest: Stereotactic delivery technology and research; tissue tolerance in high-dose, single-fraction delivery
Jing Wang Jing Wang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professpr
jing.wang@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-1795
Research Interest: Cone-beam computed tomography; image-guided radiation therapy; medical image analysis; tomographic image reconstruction
Chuxiong Ding Chuxiong Ding, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
chuxiong.ding@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5059
Research Interest: Image-guided radiotherapy; stereotactic radiation therapy
Brian Hrycushko Brian Hrycushko, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
brian.hrycushko@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7773
Research Interest: Normal tissue tolerance; stereotactic radiotherapy; radionuclide therapy; brachytherapy
Weihua Mao Weihua Mao, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
weihua.mao@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-1813
Research Interest: Real-time tumor tracking; adaptive radiotherapy; radiation therapy combined with thermotherapy
Amit Sawant Amit Sawant, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
amit.sawant@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-1796
Research Interest: MRI-guided motion management; 4D motion modeling; real-time MLC tracking
Ming Yang Ming Yang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
ming.yang@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5057
Research Interest: Proton dose calculation and optimization; dual energy computed tomography
Anh Le Anh Le, Ph.D.
Instructor
anh.le@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5467
Research Interest: Medical imaging and informatics; health IT, clinical workflow integration and translational research in radiotherapy
Zhen Tian Zhen Tian, Ph.D.
Instructor
zhen.tian@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5419
Research Interest: Dose calculation; online adaptive radiotherapy
Yulong Yan Yulong Yan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Computational Physics Director
yulong.yan@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7636
Research Interest: Novel treatment planning technologies; clinic-oriented applications; DICOM; SRS
Weiguo Lu Weiguo Lu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
weiguo.lu@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-9517
Research Interest: Next-generation treatment planning, high performance (GPU) computing, adaptive radiotherapy
Ryan Foster Ryan Foster, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor and Clinical Physics Director
ryan.foster@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8587
Research Interest: Normal tissue response; patient localization and immobilization technologies; stereotactic body radiotherapy
Xuejun Gu Xuejun Gu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
xuejun.gu@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-6543
Research Interest: Online adaptive radiotherapy; image registration; small animal imaging
Xun Jia Xun Jia, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
xun.jia@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5032
Research Interest: 3-D/4-D computed tomography reconstruction; Monte Carlo dose calculations
Arnold Pompos Arnold Pompos, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
arnold.pompos@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7663
Research Interest: Heavy particle interactions; microdosimetry; Monte Carlo simulations
Strahinja Stojadinovic Strahinja Stojadinovic, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
strahinja.stojadinovic@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7677
Research Interest: Preclinical delivery technologies and research; stereotactic radiotherapy; IMRT QA; brachytherapy
Bo Zhao Bo Zhao, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
bo.zhao@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7774
Research Interest: Image-guided radiation therapy; stereotactic body radiation therapy
Jun Tan Jun Tan, Ph.D.
Instructor
jun.tan@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5058
Research Interest: Patient safety in radiotherapy, image reconstruction, segmentation, registration, pattern classification, data mining
Hao Yan Hao Yan, Ph.D.
Instructor
hao.yan@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-6452
Research Interest: Image guidance and tumor tracking; medical imaging

Back to TopDivision of Molecular Radiation Biology

Michael Story Michael Story, Ph.D.
Professor, Vice Chair & Biology Director
David A. Pistenmaa, M.D., Ph.D. Distinguished Chair in Radiation Oncology
michael.story@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5557
Research Interest: Particle therapy; space radiation; biomarkers of therapeutic response; combined modality therapy
Sandeep Burma Sandeep Burma, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
sandeep.burma@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-7440
Research Interest: DNA double-strand break signaling and repair; glioblastoma radioresistance; particle radiation and gliomagenesis
Asaithamby  Aroumougame Asaithamby Aroumougame, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
asaithamby.aroumougame@utsw.edu
214-648-1249
Research Interest: DNA damage response signaling in development and tumor suppression
Kyung-Jong (KJ) Lee Kyung-Jong (KJ) Lee, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
kyung-jong.lee@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-1426
Research Interest: Role of DNA-PK in DNA DSB repair pathway choice; screening of small molecular compounds to radiosensitize tumor cells.
Debabrata Saha Debabrata Saha, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
debabrata.saha@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-7750
Research Interest: Tumor modeling for SBRT; role of DAB2IP in prostate cancer; small molecule inhibitors as radiosensitizers
Yu-Fen Lin Yu-Fen Lin, Ph.D.
Instructor
yu-fen.lin@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-4917
Research Interest: DNA-PKcs in ATR-signaling pathway; role of T2609 phosphorylation cluster on the S-phase checkpoint response
Seong-Mi Park Seong-Mi Park, Ph.D.
Instructor
seong.park@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-1412
Research Interest: Space radiation-induced cellular transformation; molecular mechanism of lung tumorigenesis
David Chen David Chen, Ph.D.
Professor
david.chen@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5597
Research Interest: Role of DNA-PK in double-strand break repair; DSB repair pathway choice; DNA damage response induced by HZE particles
Benjamin Chen Benjamin Chen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
benjamin.chen@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-1263
Research Interest: DNA break repair; role of DNA-PKcs; DNA damage responses in stem sell; heavy particle exposure impact on neural stem cells
Anthony (Tony) Davis Anthony (Tony) Davis, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
anthony.davis@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-1426
Research Interest: DNA double-strand break sensing, signaling and repair
Bipasha Mukherjee Bipasha Mukherjee, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
bipasha.mukherjee@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-4166
Research Interest: DNA damage and repair; heavy particle radiobiology; radioresistance of glioblastoma
Lianghao Ding Lianghao Ding, Ph.D.
Instructor
lianghao.ding@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-5892
Research Interest: DNA damage response induced by heavy particles; functional genomics of radiation toxicity; role of microRNA in head and neck cancer
Sriram Narayanan Sriram Narayanan, Ph.D.
Instructor
sriram.narayanan@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-1143
Research Interest: Cancer cachexia, tumor metabolism in cachexia
Tsuguhide (Hide) Takeshima Tsuguhide (Hide) Takeshima, Ph.D.
Instructor
tsuguhide.takeshima@utsouthwestern.edu
214-648-1132
Research Interest: Tumor microenvironment after irradiation; synergy between cancer immunotherapy and radiotherapy

Back to TopSenior Administration

Claire Almanza Claire Almanza
Director, Radiation Oncology Service
claire.almanza@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-8558
Aileen Hayashida Aileen Hayashida
Financial Affairs Manager
aileen.hayashida@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-3054
Sandy Durr Sandy Durr
Administrative Manager
sandra.durr@utsouthwestern.edu
214-645-7621