Microbiology Faculty

Department Chair

Michael V. Norgard, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Microbiology
Research interests: Regulation and roles of virulence-associated membrane lipoproteins in the Lyme disease spirochete, Borrelia burgdorferi; structure and function of membrane lipoproteins in the syphilis bacterium, Treponema pallidum; characterization of Francisella tularensis outer membrane proteins and the use of outer membrane proteins as new acellular (subunit) vaccines for tularemia.
Contact:
michael.norgard@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: Norgard Lab

Faculty

Neal M. Alto, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
Research interests: Intersection between human signal-transduction and bacterial pathogenesis; use of biochemical and cell biological analysis to define molecular mechanisms of microbial infectious disease.
Contact: neal.alto@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: Alto Lab

Nicholas K. Conrad, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
Research interests: Gene expression, RNA biogenesis, and RNA decay in the Kaposi's sarcoma-associated herpesvirus and its human host cell.
Contact: nicholas.conrad@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: Conrad Lab

Iván D'Orso, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbiology
Research interests: HIV-host interplay; mechanisms of transcription regulation, and evolution of viral-host macromolecular assemblies.
Contact: ivan.dorso@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: D'Orso Lab

David Greenberg, M.D.
Assistant Professor, Internal Medicine and Microbiology
Research interests: 
Gram-negative infections in the immunocompromised host; host-pathogen interactions; novel therapeutics in Gram-negative infections
Contact:
david.greenberg@utsouthwestern.edu

Eric J. Hansen, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology
Research interests: Molecular basis of microbial pathogenesis; use of genetic analysis to identify bacterial virulence factors; inhibition of phagocytosis by microbial gene products.
Contact: eric.hansen@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: Hansen Lab

David R. Hendrixson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
Research interests: Identification of bacterial virulence and colonization factors; regulation of flagellar organelle biosynthesis and division; analysis of bacterial signal transduction pathways.
Contact: david.hendrixson@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: Hendrixson Lab

Lora Hooper, Ph.D.
Professor of Immunology and Microbiology
Research interests: Host-microbial interactions; commensal bacteria; mucosal immunity.
Contact: lora.hooper@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: Hooper Lab

Jeffrey S. Kahn, M.D., Ph.D.
Chief, Division of Pediatric Infectious Disease
Professor of Pediatrics and Microbiology
Research interests: Molecular epidemiology and biology of respiratory syncytial virus; newly emerging human viral pathogens
Contact: jeffrey.kahn@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: Kahn Lab

Andrew Koh, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics and Microbiology
Research interests: Pathogenesis of Candida albicans and Pseudomonas aeruginosa; host-pathogen interactions.
Contact: andrew.koh@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: Koh Lab

Beth Levine, M.D.
Professor of Internal Medicine and Microbiology
Charles Cameron Sprague Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science
Research interests: Host-pathogen interactions; autophagy in innate immunity against intracellular pathogens; autophagy in cell death regulation and cancer biology
Contact: beth.levine@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: Levine Lab

Jessica Moreland, M.D.
Professor of Pediatrics and Microbiology
Research interests: Cell biology of neutrophil-based inflammation under infectious and sterile inflammatory conditions, specifically focused on neutrophil priming by both host and bacterial stimuli. Role of NAPDH oxidase 2 in signaling generated by TLR ligands and TNF, regulation of the NADPH oxidase function in neutrophils.
Contact: jessica.moreland@utsouthwestern.edu

Jerry Y. Niederkorn, Ph.D.
Professor of Ophthalmology and Microbiology
Research interests: Immunology of parasitic diseases; immune privilege of the anterior chamber of the eye; immune surveillance of intraocular tumors; immune modulation of cancer metastases.
Contact: jerry.niederkorn@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: Niederkorn Lab

Zhiming Ouyang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbiology
Contact: zhiming.ouyang@utsouthwestern.edu 

Julie Pfeiffer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
Research interest: Poliovirus; reovirus; hepatitis C virus; yellow fever virus; virus-host interactions, pathogenesis, and drug resistance.
Contact: julie.pfeiffer@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: Pfeiffer Lab

John W. Schoggins, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbiology
Research interests: Virus-host interactions; innate immunity to viral infections; interferon signaling pathways and effector mechanisms
Contact: john.schoggins@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: Schoggins Lab

Michael Shiloh, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine (Infectious Disease) and Microbiology
Research interests: Mycobacterium tuberculosis pathogenesis; role of carbon monoxide (CO) in host-pathogen interactions; innate immune response to intracellular pathogens.
Contact: michael.shiloh@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: Shiloh Lab

Vanessa Sperandio, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology and Biochemistry
Research interests: Pathogenesis of E. coli O157:H7; bacterial virulence gene regulation by quorum sensing.
Contact: vanessa.sperandio@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: Sperandio Lab

Nancy E. Street, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Assistant Professor of Microbiology
Research interests: Activation and differentiation of murine T-helper cell; the role of T-helper cells in tumor dormancy and infectious disease.
Contact: nancy.street@utsouthwestern.edu

Iwona Stroynowski, Ph.D.
Professor of Immunology and Microbiology
Research interests: Structure and function of major histocompatibility antigens.
Contact: iwona.stroynowski@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: Stroynowski Lab

Jonathan W. Uhr, M.D.
Professor Emeritus of Immunology
Research interests: Antibody-induced signaling for apoptosis; cancer dormancy; detection and characterization of circulating tumor cells in patients with solid tumors.
Contact: jonathan.uhr@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: Uhr Lab

Nicolai S. van Oers, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Immunology and Microbiology
Research interests: Regulation of immune responses and host-pathogen interactions by microRNAs; characterization of patients with primary immunodeficiency diseases.
Contact: nicolai.vanoers@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: van Oers Lab

Ellen S. Vitetta, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Immunology and Microbiology
Research interests: Translational immunology; profiling and targeted therapy of human tumors; development and clinical testing of vaccines.
Contact: ellen.vitetta@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: Vitetta Lab

Sebastian Winter, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbiology
Research interests: Connecting metabolism and virulence during Salmonella infection; host-microbe interactions during episodes of inflammation; dysbiosis of the gut microbiota
Contactsebastian.winter@utsouthwestern.edu
Website: Winter Lab

Nan Yan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine (Infectious Disease) and Microbiology
Research interests: Innate immune recognition of HIV and other retroviruses; innate immune sensing of self vs non-self nucleic acids; pathogenesis of autoimmune diseases such as Aicardi-Goutieres syndrome and lupus.
Contact: nan.yan@utsouthwestern.edu 
Website: Yan Lab