Faculty Research Interests

Center Director

Helen H. Hobbs, M.D.
Howard Hughes Investigator
Director, McDermott Center
Professor of Internal Medicine and Molecular Genetics
Research Interests: Genetics of Lipid Metabolism
Lab website: Hobbs–Cohen Lab
Contact: helen.hobbs@utsouthwestern.edu

Faculty

Massimo Attanasio, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
Research Interests: Genetics of Inherited Kidney Diseases
Contact: massimo.attanasio@utsouthwestern.edu

Linda A. Baker, M.D.
Professor of Urology
Research Interests: Causes of Hypospadias, Intersex Disorders, Undescended Testes and Testicular Torsion, Genetic Basis of Prune Belly Syndrome, Inherited or Familial Birth Defects of the Genitourinary tract, Pediatric Renal Stone Disease, and Female Reconstructive Surgery, Vaginoplasty
Contact: linda.baker@childrens.com

Ralph J. DeBerardinis, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Genetics
Research Interests: Cellular Regulation of Metabolism in Normal Cells and in Cancer
Diagnosis and Treatment of Pediatric Metabolic Diseases

Lab website: DeBerardinis Lab
Contact: ralph.deberardinis@utsouthwestern.edu

Jonathan C. Cohen, Ph.D.
Professor of Internal Medicine
Research Interests: Genetics of Quantitative Traits
Lab website: Hobbs–Cohen Lab
Contact: jonathan.cohen@utsouthwestern.edu

Amanda Fox, M.D., M.P.H.
Associate Professor of Anesthesiology and Pain Management
Research Interest: Perioperative Genomics
amanda.fox@utsouthwestern.edu

Christine Kim Garcia, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine
Research Interests: Genetics of Pulmonary Disorders
Lab website: Garcia Lab
Contact: christine.garcia@utsouthwestern.edu

Donald A. Glass II, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Dermatology
Research Interests: Genetics of Keloids, Genetics of Other Skin Disorders
Contact: donald.glass@utsouthwestern.edu

Garrett Gotway, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Program Director of Medical Genetics Residency Program
Research Interests: Pediatric Genetics
garrett.gotway@utsouthwestern.edu

Ralf Kittler, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Pharmacology
Research Interests: Cancer Biology, Genomics, Nuclear Receptors, Transcriptional Regulation
Lab website: Kittler Lab
Contact: ralf.kittler@utsouthwestern.edu

Julia Kozlitina, Ph.D. 
Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
Research Interests: Statistical Genetics, Genetic Epidemiology, Genetics of Complex Traits
Contact: julia.kozlitina@utsouthwestern.edu

Venkateswara (Vinod) Mootha, M.D.
Professor of Ophthalmology
Research Interests: Genetics of Corneal Disorders
Contact: vinod.mootha@utsouthwestern.edu

Nikhil V. Munshi, M.D., Ph.D. 
Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine (Cardiology Division) and Molecular Biology
Research Interests: Transcriptional Control of Cardiac Rhythm
Lab website: Munshi Lab
Contact: nikhil.munshi@utsouthwestern.edu

Jason Park, M.D., Ph.D. 
Assistant Professor of Pathology
Research Interests: Clinical Next Generation Sequencing
Contact: jason.park@childrens.com

Juan Pascual, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Neurology and Neurotherapeutics
Research Interests: Neurogenetics, Whole Exome and Genome Analyses in Neurological Disorders
juan.pascual@utsouthwestern.edu

Jonathan Rios, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Research Interests: Computational Genomics, Genomics of Orthopaedic Disease
Contact: jonathan.rios@tsrh.org

Bridget Stuart, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
bridget.stuart@utsouthwestern.edu

Lewis J. Waber, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Acting Division Director Genetics & Metabolism
Director, Medical Genetics and Education
Research Interests: Pediatric Metabolism Disorders
Contact: lewis.waber@utsouthwestern.edu

Kathleen Wilson, M.D.
Professor, Department of Pathology
Research Interests: Cytogenetics and Genetic Disorders
Veripath Laboratories
Contact: kathleen.wilson@utsouthwestern.edu 

Carol Wise, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Director, Molecular Genetics, Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children
Research Interests: Genetics of Pediatric Musculoskeletal Disease
Lab website: Wise Lab
Contact: carol.wise@tsrh.org

Xiao-Song Xie, Ph.D.
Professor of Internal Medicine
Research Interests: Structure and Function of V-type Proton Translocating ATPase; Biochemistry of ABC transporters -ABCG5 and ABCG8
Lab website: Xie Lab
Contact: xiao-song.xie@utsouthwestern.edu

Chao Xing, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Clinical Sciences
Research Interests: Methodology – Statistical Genetics, Genetic Mapping, Association, Linkage, and Segregation Analysis, Gene Expression. Application - Human Complex Genetic Disorders: Hypertension, Obesity, Type II Diabetes, Systemic Lupus Erythematosus, Age-related Mascular Degeneration
Lab website: Xing Lab
Contact: chao.xing@utsouthwestern.edu

Zhenyu Xuan, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
Research Interests: Computational Biology
Contact: zhenyu.xuan@utdallas.edu

Andrew R. Zinn, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Medical Scientist Training Program, Associate Professor of Internal Medicine
Research Interests: Molecular Genetics of the Human X Chromosome, Genetic Disorders of Growth and Reproduction
Lab website: Zinn Lab
Contact: andrew.zinn@utsouthwestern.edu